rules of chess

Sort:
Avatar of smsjr723

can a king take a peice... moving itself into check if that peice, that would need to move in order to effectively "take" the king is pinned?

 

ex:  white's rook takes black's pawn, putting the rook, diagonally SW of the black's king.  the space white's rook ocupies after taking black's pawn is guarded by a spot white's knight could attack/defend/move to.  Except... blacks queen pins the knight that could defend, to white's king.   Can black's king take the rook to it's SW moving into the square of the white's knight... because it's pinned.  Or no...


Avatar of Loomis
No, you cannot put yourself in check. A piece can have the king in check even when it is pinned.
Avatar of ENDGAME-inactive

sms, same exact thing happened to me in a game im still playing...

my bishop was on the same diagonal as the opposing king, with only an opposing pawn in the way....

but that pawn was protecting another pawn, and i tried to take it with my king...but failed....so you cannot put your king in check no matter what apparently, even if the opposing pawn could not move and take my king (because it would allow the opposing king to be attacked by my bishop....)


Avatar of FRabkyG27
That's because if you were to continue playing after such a move your king would get eaten first.
Avatar of ksully

duh

 


Avatar of ENDGAME-inactive
FRabkyG27 wrote: That's because if you were to continue playing after such a move your king would get eaten first.

yea, but the death of the other king would be right after!!!


Avatar of thomquin
ENDGAME wrote: FRabkyG27 wrote: That's because if you were to continue playing after such a move your king would get eaten first.

yea, but the death of the other king would be right after!!!


but once your king  is dead the game is over...

 

 

and you cant move into check, thats just how that works =/