Forums

Rules that prevent King from killing out of Check?

Sort:
Magna_Canem

At the risk of embarrassment,....

   Can a King kill a checkmate threat if doing so (occupying the threat's board position), doesn't expose the King to check exposure from another piece?...Or,... does the king have to have some other piece do his defense killing for him?

I ask that because one of the tactic puzzles moved the King away from a Check Threat when, to my eye, the king could have just dispatched the social interloper & that would have been all there was to it.

I am new to the rules so ???

JDudar

The king can kill a checkmate threat as long as he doesn't move into threat (as long as there isn't any piece defending the piece the king attacks).

 

Do you have the link to the tactic puzzle?

Magna_Canem

I am new to this environ & presently don't know where I noticed it....I will send it when it re-emerges.

Thank you for response!!Laughing

Ziryab

The pieces are made of glass, plastic, cut wood, or other materials that cannot be killed.

 

Given your confusion over the language for captures, though, the answer is yes: the king can capture an attacking piece if it is undefended. It happens frequently, for example, in the opening known as the Berlin Wall.

 

orangehonda

It's possible that the tactic puzzle had a trick to where if you did indeed capture the attacking piece there would follow a mate or loss of material on the moves thereafter, if so the solution would be to move away even though capturing the attacker was a legal move.

cypherlights

hey i have one question like if there is a king with a castle for his defense guarding him can he check the other king with the king cuz i think the other king can't kill him cuz he will die too by the castle which is suicide

wanmokewan

You can't place your king in check, so no, you can't check your opponent's king with your own(I think that's what you're asking.)

bhavyaagarwal_154

Can a king kill the check token if it is in range of king and has no back support? Like if a pawn comes to kill the king can the king kill it it there is no ack support ?

 

 

blueemu
bhavyaagarwal_154 wrote:

Can a king kill the check token if it is in range of king and has no back support? Like if a pawn comes to kill the king can the king kill it it there is no ack support ?

Yes. If the checking piece is not defended, the King can just capture it.