Sour otb chess experience

Sort:
Avatar of waffllemaster
Strikerfm1 wrote:
waffllemaster wrote:
waveguide wrote:

Even if he ran the clock out there wasnt sufficient material on the board to mate with. Doesnt matter that a pawn could be promoted, at the time the clock ran out the material was not enough to mate. So even if your clock ran out it was still a draw due to insufficient material.


That doesn't make any sense. If a legal series of moves could create mate, then it's considered sufficient material.

The only exception may be lone king vs two knights which you may have to claim as insufficent losing chances or something.


you are the one not making sense. It's not about " a legal series of moves",it's about what's on the board at the time. A pawn is a pawn is a pawn,and it's nothing more,unless you promote it. If the pawn hasn't promoted,you can't say "well,after x moves it would have", it's a pawn,and it will be treated as such. Therefore,it's not enough material to mate.


Well anyway, I'm not discussing it, I'm just letting you know.  You're free to use whatever rules you want with your friends / at your club.

At my club it's not uncommon to give the option of a takeback if the move is inordinately terrible Laughing (you don't ask for it though).  We also do clock move instead of touch move.

Avatar of waffllemaster

IMO anyway it's inaccurate to think of a pawn being replaced by another piece (I mean, it is physically) but by the rules (especially evidenced when having 2 queens) the pawn's movement ability is "promoted" to that of another piece.

So you're literally promoting the pawn.

Avatar of Archaic71

Meh, I would not sweat it - it meant a lot more to his dumb arse than it did to you.  Everybody in the room got it but him.  I suspect he will have a hard time picking up skittles games at the club after that performance.

Avatar of Strikerfm1
padman wrote:

Striker, I think you're a bit on edge from your run in with corpsporc earlier. Wafflemaster is actually right, if there is even one pawn on the board there is technically sufficient mating material. It's not just about the current snapshot.


technically yes,but the position must be winniable also. Having an extra pawn doesn't mean you automatically win on time. It must be a winnable position,otherwise it's a draw,and any TD worth his salt would make it such. Running out of time doesn't mean you automatically lose the game.

Consider a position where you have a king vs rook pawn and wrong colored bishop (an easy elemtary draw) ,and the defending side has already reached the corner square. The side thats up on material (K+B+P) would never be able to drive out the enemey king. Say we went a for 20 moves,at a tournament,and I just run you off the clock on purpose. Do you think I'd win? hell no. No TD would award me the win. You guys automatically view running out of time as a clear victory, when it isn't. 

Avatar of waffllemaster

If your flag falls, and your opponent calls it (which because of electronic clocks is pretty much a given) then you lose regardless of the position on the board.

In tournament blitz I think there's an exception if you mate as your flag falls (something like this).

But if it's a draw for any other reason than agreement, you have to stop the clock and make a claim.  Otherwise you can, for example, repeat the position 5 times in front of the TD and even say to the TD "is it a draw?" and nothing will happen (I've actually seen this, the guy lost because he didn't make a claim).

One of Ulf Anderson's games they repeat the position about 7 times and then keep going lol.

Avatar of Strikerfm1
chrisr2212 wrote:

isn't it that the position only need be "loseable" ?


honestly it doesn't even matter,it was a "friendly" game,and the guy was a total retard. 

Avatar of Jebcc

sounds like he was a sourpuss.  go back to the club with an attractive lady friend have her push your clock buttons for you and carry your pieces.....he will melt.  Cool

Avatar of Strikerfm1
padman wrote:
Strikerfm1 wrote:
 

technically yes,but the position must be winniable also. Having an extra pawn doesn't mean you automatically win on time. It must be a winnable position,otherwise it's a draw,and any TD worth his salt would make it such. Running out of time doesn't mean you automatically lose the game.

Consider a position where you have a king vs rook pawn and wrong colored bishop (an easy elemtary draw) ,and the defending side has already reached the corner square. The side thats up on material (K+B+P) would never be able to drive out the enemey king. Say we went a for 20 moves,at a tournament,and I just run you off the clock on purpose. Do you think I'd win? hell no. No TD would award me the win. You guys automatically view running out of time as a clear victory, when it isn't. 


If your opponent has mating material and you run out of time, you lose the game. The only consideration is if there is mating material present. Even if it's your King, Bishop and Pawn example with the defender already tucked into the corner. That position is "winnable" by the way, because the pawn can promote. The rules aren't suspended in particular cases just because it looks like no progress can be made.

Anyway, you can look up all these things for yourself. Best of luck.

No,you are wrong.

Avatar of Kingwraith

I find it interesting that the same people who claim it is soooo rude to flag an opponent in a "friendly" game are also the ones who are quick to throw out all kinds of insults to people in this thread.  Makes me laugh at the irony.  

Also, if it's a friendly game, who cares?  Resign and move on.  Seems to me a little pride was involved there, not wanting to be one to lose to "that guy."  Which is fine, I guess, just not something I relate to.

Avatar of Kingwraith

Whatever that means.....

 

If the game is just for fun, and you've played the game down to a drawn position and you don't feel like moving pieces around anymore, resign and move on.  More importantly stop whining, which gives all chess players a bad name.

Avatar of Strikerfm1

I think the OP has the patience of an angel because I would have snapped. 

Avatar of Violets_are_blue

When you start a game you agree with the rules. He played by the rules, you wanted him not to play by the rules (tried to force him to draw). It's that simple. Throw morals and gamesmanship and all that crap out of the window, it's not your business what other people do.

Avatar of Violets_are_blue

It's mind boggling how some people think that pressuring your opponent to resign or draw is ok (always against the rules), and him continuing to play is immoral (always by the rules). Plenty of cognitive dissonance.

Avatar of beardogjones

Also, why care if your rating goes down sometimes online, its not money and your chess ability remains whatever it is.

Avatar of rvkoivu

What do you mean "tried to force him to draw". The situation ALREADY was a draw, as has been said here for a thousand times already. If neither player can improve their situation, it's a draw, period. Is that really so hard to comprehend? Insisting of playing on with 10min on the clock in that situation is just pure idiocy. Nobody wants to play jerks like that.

Avatar of Violets_are_blue
rvkoivu wrote:

What do you mean "tried to force him to draw". The situation ALREADY was a draw, as has been said here for a thousand times already. If neither player can improve their situation, it's a draw, period. Is that really so hard to comprehend? Insisting of playing on with 10min on the clock in that situation is just pure idiocy. Nobody wants to play jerks like that.


It might have been a draw but the game wasn't over.

Avatar of rvkoivu

That's like saying "it might have been a checkmate but the game wasn't over". Of course the game is over if it's a draw.

Avatar of Violets_are_blue
rvkoivu wrote:

That's like saying "it might have been a checkmate but the game wasn't over". Of course the game is over if it's a draw.


Why wasn't it over then?

 

My point is this: Don't break the rules when the game is on. You never have right to that.

Avatar of rvkoivu

It was over, but OP's opponent failed to admit that, and kept living in some kind of a fantasy land hoping for a miracle that would turn the draw into a win.

Avatar of waffllemaster
Violets_are_blue wrote:
rvkoivu wrote:

What do you mean "tried to force him to draw". The situation ALREADY was a draw, as has been said here for a thousand times already. If neither player can improve their situation, it's a draw, period. Is that really so hard to comprehend? Insisting of playing on with 10min on the clock in that situation is just pure idiocy. Nobody wants to play jerks like that.


It might have been a draw but the game wasn't over.


IMO that depends on your skill level.  I see it as the same thing as when two beginner children have only their kings left and keep moving because they don't know how to read the position.  Eventually you get to the level where certain positions and a drawn result become like equivalent statements and the game is over without anyone needing to say anything.

Unfortunately for the OP, his opponent was a child (in more than one way).