If this was the final of an important tournament you would have been forced to notate the game, therefore would know the position.
I have successfully balanced 7 pieces 2 white rooks 2 black rook 1 white queen 1 black knight and 1 white pawn but i got chucked out.
Oh, and by the way, how did your execution go.
In the final of the recent Macynlleth Masters of Mayhem Intercontinental I was in the final deciding game against the Welsh champion Dai Young.
He got off to a flyer and was a bishop clear despite my positional superiority. At move 6 I unleashed a counter-intuitivismism master-stroke and he was proper flummoxed. 45 minutes later and he had still not moved.
In the down-time I had managed to balance 5 of my pieces (Rook, Queen, Rook, Knight, Pawn) in a vertical chess tower next to his King. I was just attempting to complete the mythical sixth (a Bishop if you're interested) when the whole lot came tumbling down scattering the remaining pieces all over the floor.
Well what can you do - neither of us could remember the position so we had to start again.
Two questions chess brethren:
1 What are the specific rules governing such mishaps? If you can remember the position are you allowed not to start again?
2 What are the most chess pieces you have ever balanced during a sanctioned game?