What is the outcome in this case

Sort:
Nordlandia

Think about it for a moment.

Martin_Stahl
Nordlandia wrote:

Think about it for a moment.

 

It should be a draw since checkmate by black is not possible by any series of legal moves.

Moremover

remis

Nordlandia

Yes 😋

IcyAvaleigh
there is no other legal move than checkmating black so I think the FIDe rules give white the win (online this would be a draw)
Klemens82

Yes, it's a draw (with FIDE rules at least). And with US Chess rules it's the material that counts, which make it interesting since black has mating material but no legal way to get to a mate. happy.png

(https://new.uschess.org/news/just-rules-flag-falls-part-1)

 

But with FIDE rules it seems that it's technically not the material itself that is deciding. It's the possible legal moves afterwards.

"6.9Except where one of the Articles: 5.1.a, 5.1.b, 5.2.a, 5.2.b, 5.2.c applies, if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the allotted time, the game is lost by the player. However, the game is drawn, if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves. " https://www.fide.com/FIDE/handbook/LawsOfChess.pdf

Martin_Stahl
Klemens82 wrote:

Yes, it's a draw (with FIDE rules at least). And with US Chess rules it's the material that counts, which make it interesting since black has mating material but no legal way to get to a mate.

(https://new.uschess.org/news/just-rules-flag-falls-part-1)

 

But with FIDE rules it seems that it's technically not the material itself that is deciding. It's the possible legal moves afterwards.

"6.9Except where one of the Articles: 5.1.a, 5.1.b, 5.2.a, 5.2.b, 5.2.c applies, if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the allotted time, the game is lost by the player. However, the game is drawn, if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves. " https://www.fide.com/FIDE/handbook/LawsOfChess.pdf

 

Under US Chess regulations, it is also a draw under 14D4 No legal move leading to checkmate by opponent

Klemens82

@Martin_Stahl Thanks for the clarification!