When to write notation

Rueschhoff

Tonight I'm playing in my first USCF-rated games.  I gotta break in my brand-new USCF membership card somehow.

My question is whether I have to finish annotating my move before I hit my clock or if I can move, hit my clock and then annotate my move.  I looked through the 6th edition of USCF's Rules of Chess and didn't see where it makes a distinction.

Thanks in advance.

IMBacon

Unless something has changed?  You are required to write your move down after hitting the clock.  At some point, it was considered "cheating" to write your move down, before making the actual move.

Rueschhoff

IMBacon,

I know that the rules state that you can not write your move down before you move the piece (unless the tournament is being played under the Variation 1, then it can be done before or vice-versa), but I didn't see anything that says that you had to write down the move "after hitting the clock."  

IMBacon
Rueschhoff wrote:

IMBacon,

I know that the rules state that you can not write your move down before you move the piece (unless the tournament is being played under the Variation 1, then it can be done before or vice-versa), but I didn't see anything that says that you had to write down the move "after hitting the clock."  

I don't believe there is a rule for that.  If there was, what would we all do when in time pressure?  I have has A LOT of games where i have had to write down multiple moves at once.

Rueschhoff

IMBacon,

Well, in time pressure, I know that if either player has less than 5 minutes left on their clock, then neither player has to continue taking notation.

 

Let me try to ask this in a different way, is annotating a move a requirement for ending my move by hitting the clock?

IMBacon
Rueschhoff wrote:

IMBacon,

Well, in time pressure, I know that if either player has less than 5 minutes left on their clock, then neither player has to continue taking notation.

 

Let me try to ask this in a different way, is annotating a move a requirement for ending my move by hitting the clock?

As far as i know...No

Martin_Stahl
IMBacon wrote:
Rueschhoff wrote:

IMBacon,

Well, in time pressure, I know that if either player has less than 5 minutes left on their clock, then neither player has to continue taking notation.

 

Let me try to ask this in a different way, is annotating a move a requirement for ending my move by hitting the clock?

As far as i know...No

 

That is correct. You may notate your move before or after you hit the clock. You must have your move notated before you make your next move on the board, unless you are not required to notate, as mentioned above. 

mgx9600

Both sequences are fine; but everybody I've played notated after hitting the clock.

Rueschhoff

Thanks everyone!  Tournament went fine.  It's humbling to be beaten by kids who your age is 5x their own.  But, I went 2.0 out of three games.  It certainly is a different type of chess to be juggling hitting the clock and taking notation all while trying to not hang pieces.  But great fun.  Thanks for the help everyone!

Laskersnephew

Congratulations on your good result. I hope you'll continue playing in OTB tournaments. It's such an intense chess experience, isn't it?