Draw By 3rd rep

Sort:
Avatar of Ziggyblitz

I have a game that is repeating a sequence of moves.  I can "offer" a draw, but can I "claim" a draw?Undecided

Avatar of RetGuvvie98
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Ziggyblitz

  Thanks, but how do I claim?  Thru the chat or messages ?Undecided

Avatar of Nytik

Hit the 'Claim Draw' button (the text on the normal 'offer draw' button should have changed).

Avatar of Ziggyblitz

Not yet (no clain draw button), but it is a sequence that my opponent can't avoid, so no sweat. So I should just look for the Clain Draw to appear?

Avatar of Nytik

Yes. Remember, it appears in the same place the 'Offer Draw' button usually does.

Avatar of RetGuvvie98
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Nytik

I am under the impression it will only happen immediately if the button says 'claim', as this is the only indication the server has actually recognised a three-fold on the board...

Avatar of RetGuvvie98
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Nytik

Aha, I wasn't aware of a time delay. And that pre-move issue should be fixed.

Unless... in OTB chess, do you have to claim a draw by threefold IMMEDIATELY after threefold? Or can you play more moves, and then claim a draw? Seems a little ambiguous unless I've missed part of a rule.

Avatar of Ziggyblitz
RetGuvvie98 wrote:

I may be mistaken, but if you make the move that repeated the position for the 3rd time, clicking on 'draw' will either offer a draw or claim the draw, even if the button hasn't changed yet.  the 'button change' time delay takes a brief time, and, (in some positions) if your opponent has alertly recognized that possibility, and has entered a 'premove', to vary the position, then .....  claiming it instantly will be the only way to get it to happen.

 

kind of a moot issue in the referenced game, as there are few enough choices for the defender.


 It is a moot point in this position, but it is best to know what to do.  It can be confusing.  To offer a draw you are supposed to make your move first.  You claim a draw before you move, is that right?  although I believe that is not so much accepted practice these days.  I am going for my longest drawing streak, so I should already know this stuff.  Thanks for your input.Embarassed

Avatar of RetGuvvie98
[COMMENT DELETED]
Avatar of Ziggyblitz

I offered a draw after I'd made my move.  So it's an offer, not a claim.  In the case before me there is no problem, as the only alternative to repetition is to allow checkmate.

Avatar of TheGrobe
RetGuvvie98 wrote:

I may be mistaken, but if you make the move that repeated the position for the 3rd time, clicking on 'draw' will either offer a draw or claim the draw, even if the button hasn't changed yet.  the 'button change' time delay takes a brief time, and, (in some positions) if your opponent has alertly recognized that possibility, and has entered a 'premove', to vary the position, then .....  claiming it instantly will be the only way to get it to happen.

 

kind of a moot issue in the referenced game, as there are few enough choices for the defender.


I mentioned it in another thread, but it bears repeating:  This is a flaw that needs to be resolved.

Avatar of RetGuvvie98
[COMMENT DELETED]