glitch where opponents pawn and my pawn are even

ogplayah

Opponent was able to capture my pawn even though we were on e5 and d5 respectively - his next move was diagonal d5 to e6 and somehow captured my pawn that was on e5 at the time?? I asked him to draw after the glitch as we were even at the time but the punk wouldn't

ogplayah

null

ogplayah

null

Martin_Stahl

It is en passant and not a glitch:

https://support.chess.com/customer/en/portal/articles/1444779-my-opponent-made-an-illegal-move-

you_slurp1o1

facepalm

Gelate

facepalm

ogplayah
Damn that's odd but cool because now I'm looking forward to using it and stumping someone like me who wasn't aware of the move
Lagomorph
ogplayah wrote:
Damn that's odd but cool because now I'm looking forward to using it and stumping someone like me who wasn't aware of the move

 

Thats the spirit. Then he can call you a punk.

Graf_Nachthafen
Glitch where you didn't read the rules of the game you were playing maybe.
ogplayah
Well damn Graf I just checked the copyright date and here I was going off a pre 1490 rule book I feel like such a fool.
macer75
superman0101 wrote:

learn to play chess before you come here. or at least read the rules.

What's wrong with using chess.com to learn the rules?

ogplayah
Exactly - it's funny how snobbish people can be when all they are grand master of is their corner of mommy and daddy's basement. I freely admit it was ignorance of that rule now that someone pointed it out. However I don't think not knowing that rule means I shouldn't be on chess.com - quite the opposite.
ogplayah

Thanks and you get extra points for using a meme - I guess it's a draw

rivadis

Lol