they say my game was drawn

Sort:
Avatar of gimmewuchagot

http://www.chess.com/echess/game.html?id=22239108

chess.com said thats my game was drawn, but i had a winning game and the position only repeated twice, HELP ME!!!

Avatar of ilmago

The final position occurred three times in that game: On move 30, 34 and 36. So the draw by repetition is correct.

Avatar of redsoxfan33

one question aside from this subject, when creating a tournament how do you control how many people are in each group?

Avatar of MarioGabriel

You should look at the position on move 30, 34 and 36. It's the same, so there is a Draw by repetition of position. You shouldn't confuse this with perpetual check, that is check on the same position 3 times in a row.

Avatar of Scarblac
MarioGabriel wrote:

You should look at the position on move 30, 34 and 36. It's the same, so there is a Draw by repetition of position. You shouldn't confuse this with perpetual check, that is check on the same position 3 times in a row.


Your first point is correct, your second one is not.

"Perpetual check" is a rule that does not exist anymore in the FIDE laws of chess, but it used to be that you could claim a draw if you could show (to the arbiter) that you could go on checking your opponent forever, and there was no legal way for your opponent to get out of the checks.

Check on the same position three times in a row is probably three times the same position, and otherwise it's nothing special.

Avatar of Scarblac

Uhm... I thought a few years ago (round about the time rule 10.2 was introduced). I distinctly recall it being a rule. But now I'm Googling around, and Wikipedia only says that it used to be a rule, and the discussion page says that books from 1951 mention that it used to be a rule. That was before my time... (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki?title=Talk:Perpetual_check)

Avatar of Scarblac

I sent a question for Geurt Gijssen's column to his Chess Cafe address...

Avatar of TheOldReb

Surely a perpetual check would still end the game as drawn. Maybe it would be declared drawn under the repetition of position rule ?

Avatar of Scarblac

Yeah, either that or the fifty moves rule (in those situations where the king is chased over the whole board).

But you have to make the moves first to claim, you can't stop the clock and show the arbiter that it's impossible for him to get out of the checks.

Avatar of gimmewuchagot

ok, i didnt notice the repetition on move 30, i have a bad memoryYell

Avatar of TheOldReb
Scarblac wrote:

Yeah, either that or the fifty moves rule (in those situations where the king is chased over the whole board).

But you have to make the moves first to claim, you can't stop the clock and show the arbiter that it's impossible for him to get out of the checks.


 Actually, either player may stop the clocks in order to summon the arbiter but if the arbiter decides you didnt have a legit cause to do so you can get a penalty against you. Also, whoever stops the clocks , it must be their move. You cannot stop the clocks if its your opponents move.

Avatar of gimmewuchagot
redsoxfan33 wrote:

one question aside from this subject, when creating a tournament how do you control how many people are in each group?


 he should really post that somewhere else, like a forum called, "When creating a tournament, how do you control how many people are in each group?"

Or look at the FAQ.

Avatar of 2godlyf4U

itz drawn bawt.... yd u repetion? u shud of tried be4 u got the draw

Avatar of gimmewuchagot
2godlyf4U wrote:

itz drawn bawt.... yd u repetion? u shud of tried be4 u got the draw


 can you translate tht to proper american english, please?

Avatar of gimmewuchagot
2godlyf4U wrote:

itz drawn bawt.... yd u repetion? u shud of tried be4 u got the draw


 I'm guessing, "It's drawn but.... yd you repetition? u should of tried before you got the draw."

But i still have no idea what "yd" is.

Avatar of Marshal_Dillon
Scarblac wrote:
MarioGabriel wrote:

You should look at the position on move 30, 34 and 36. It's the same, so there is a Draw by repetition of position. You shouldn't confuse this with perpetual check, that is check on the same position 3 times in a row.


Your first point is correct, your second one is not.

"Perpetual check" is a rule that does not exist anymore in the FIDE laws of chess, but it used to be that you could claim a draw if you could show (to the arbiter) that you could go on checking your opponent forever, and there was no legal way for your opponent to get out of the checks.

Check on the same position three times in a row is probably three times the same position, and otherwise it's nothing special.


That presents a situation where someone with a time advantage can deliver check, refusing to agree to a draw, not allowing the position to repeat, quite possibly inside the 50 move limit, until the other player's flag drops, thus winning on time. This rule should be reinstated.

Avatar of gimmewuchagot

yea, if it was a draw before the flag fell, then its a draw, if the atribter says so.

Avatar of Gert-Jan
2godlyf4U wrote:

itz drawn bawt.... yd u repetion? u shud of tried be4 u got the draw


 the translation of the last part is:you should have tried before you got the draw.(read his sentence phonetic.)

Avatar of Scarblac
Marshal_Dillon wrote: That presents a situation where someone with a time advantage can deliver check, refusing to agree to a draw, not allowing the position to repeat, quite possibly inside the 50 move limit, until the other player's flag drops, thus winning on time. This rule should be reinstated.

Besides the 50 move rule and the threefold repetition rule, there's also rule 10.2, that allows you to claim a draw if you have just a few minutes left and the opponent isn't trying to win. I don't think there are any problems in practice.

Avatar of Nytik
gimmewuchagot wrote:
2godlyf4U wrote:

itz drawn bawt.... yd u repetion? u shud of tried be4 u got the draw


 I'm guessing, "It's drawn but.... yd you repetition? u should of tried before you got the draw."

But i still have no idea what "yd" is.


 Why'd... and repetition should be 'repeat', presumably, although you'd still need to add 'the position' to make it correct.