50 Moves Rule Does Not Work!

Sort:
Avatar of RandomPrecision
davutuysal wrote:

50-Moves Rule: If there is at least 50 moves played without any pawn move or piece sacrifice, game automatically ends with draw!


As some others have mentioned, this is the problem: it's not an automatic draw.

Generally, you have to claim every draw in chess.  Stalemate is the primary exception.

I believe this is why the live chess draw button now reads "Draw" instead of "Offer Draw", to reflect that you'll claim the draw if possible, but otherwise offer a draw.

Avatar of davutuysal0

Well I want to ask some simple questions to chess rules experts here:

1. Is King-Rook v/s King-Rook position is a good position to claim draw? I think yes, I can simply prove it. But ofcourse this will end with draw if no one does blunders.

2. In this position, I pressed the Draw button. 3 times in different move order. I am sure Chess.com didnt recognize it as Claim Draw action but Offer Draw so my opponent declined the offer.

As far as I understood from all above discussions, it is not possible to claim draw in Live Chess as you have to prove it so 3-Repeated and 50-Move Rules cannot be handled by GUI as well. 

Avatar of BlueKnightShade

Well, if the software doesn't recognize a draw claim in a position where you are entitled to a draw if you claim it, then the software needs to be corrected. But isn't the live chess on this site still working on a beta version? I suggest you make sure you report it to the proper people by making a direct report to someone who is in charge of the live chess. He, she or they would probably be happy to get a report of how the live chess works or not works, so it can be improved.

 

An additional remark regarding this:

davutuysal wrote:

Well I want to ask some simple questions to chess rules experts here:

1. Is King-Rook v/s King-Rook position is a good position to claim draw? I think yes, I can simply prove it. But ofcourse this will end with draw if no one does blunders.

... snip ...

No, a King-Rook v/s King-Rook position is not a position to claim a draw. But if 50 moves were done without moving a pawn or without making a capture then you can claim the draw no matter what the position is at that point.

Avatar of Elubas

I think he meant offer draw, because that's quite drawn, just not by the rules.

Avatar of davutuysal0
BlueKnightShade wrote:

...

davutuysal wrote:

Well I want to ask some simple questions to chess rules experts here:

1. Is King-Rook v/s King-Rook position is a good position to claim draw? I think yes, I can simply prove it. But ofcourse this will end with draw if no one does blunders.

... snip ...

No, a King-Rook v/s King-Rook position is not a position to claim a draw. But if 50 moves were done without moving a pawn or without making a capture then you can claim the draw no matter what the position is at that point.


Ok. Thanks. So We did 60 moves (115 - 55) without pawn move or capture. I am not sure if I pressed Draw after I completed 50 moves but I dont think GUI could recognize the difference between Claim Draw and Offer Draw when the Draw button is pressed.

Anyway, thanks all. 

Avatar of Theempiremaker

You and your opponent could have agreed to a draw, yes ?

Avatar of TheGrobe

I think that by virtue of his pressing the draw button, presumably before the 50 moves had finished, that his opponent's unwillingness to cede the draw means that this was not an option.

I've never used the claim draw functionality for the 50 move rule, but I can say with certainty that it works as described earlier in this thread for three-fold repetition.  I expect it also works properly for the 50 move rule, but I'd have to defer to someone who's actually used (or tested) it.

Avatar of BlueKnightShade
TheGrobe wrote:

...

I've never used the claim draw functionality for the 50 move rule, but I can say with certainty that it works as described earlier in this thread for three-fold repetition.  I expect it also works properly for the 50 move rule, but I'd have to defer to someone who's actually used (or tested) it.


In live chess that is??? This topic is about live chess and not the normal correspondance chess that is played on the site.

Avatar of TheGrobe

Yes, claim draw definitely works for three-fold repetition in live chess.

Avatar of BlueKnightShade

So we need to someone who actually tried out the 50 moves rule in live chess since  davutuysal is not sure whether he pressed the button after 50 moves were done.

Avatar of TheGrobe

Perhaps someone on staff can weigh in -- I can't imagine, though, that they implemented the functionality for three-fold repetition and didn't also do so for the 50 move rule.

Avatar of Gerrit-X-Core

I like man testicles- yes. This should have drawn- yes.

Avatar of davutuysal0
Gerrit-X-Core wrote:

I like man testicles- yes. This should have drawn- yes.


I appreciate your capability to link man testicles with the subject of this issue. Good!

Avatar of Dokiel

Get Rolf Harris to do it. He will draw for you. Gudday Cobber.

Avatar of tigergutt

the thing is that on chess.com your opponents can decline the draw even if it is draw according to rules. in chess.com you have to claim the draw after you have moved but before its your turn again. when your opponent uses premove you can forget about it. it would have been nice if it was more like in reallife chessrules when you give the offer while you do the move:)

Avatar of MadMuppets

So let's say you play a game and on move 75 is the last pawn move. From that point no pawn moves and no caputure is made. The game continues til move 140 and then you move a pawn. can you claim the 50 move rule on move 145 or is it too late?

I think it is too late since it has to be in the last 50 moves, can anyone verify this?

Avatar of robo008
Bro the game link is so old it’s a different game
Avatar of doggo6912
Its a draw when theres 50 moves of no captures or pawn moves-there was SOOOOOO much checks
Avatar of doggo6912
MadMuppets wrote:

So let's say you play a game and on move 75 is the last pawn move. From that point no pawn moves and no caputure is made. The game continues til move 140 and then you move a pawn. can you claim the 50 move rule on move 145 or is it too late?

I think it is too late since it has to be in the last 50 moves, can anyone verify this?
————————————————-——————-———————————————————————————————————
Lets see how it works for you
Avatar of EndgameEnthusiast2357

Is castling also included in this rule? I know it doesn't apply here but I might have read something once that castling and even double-checks may reset the count? I don't know just asking.