Game drawn by repetition doesn't works. I repeated the position 4 times

Sort:
Avatar of DarkGrisen

Here is the game: http://www.chess.com/livechess/game?id=1246098948

Go to move 52 for black and you will see that I repeated the same position 4 times instead of 3 in order to make it draw. I thought it should be a draw when you repeat the same position 3 times right? Sometimes I have to repeat it like 6 times to make it a draw. So annoying.

Avatar of Lagomorph

A draw by repetition has to be claimed...press the offer draw button. It is not automatic.

Avatar of baddogno

We have a wonderful resource here at chess.com called Help & Support. You can find it at the bottom of every page in the list next to the green pawn. It's where I found this article on "How to claim a draw".  

https://support.chess.com/customer/portal/articles/1444798

Avatar of DarkGrisen

I'm not talking about claiming a draw. I'm talking about the rules of chess.

You are not getting my point. The game was drawn automatically after 4 repetitions instead of 3 repetitions. Sometimes it's even more. In real chess a game is drawn by repetition if you repeat the same position 3 times.

It seems like you just read the topic instead of reading my entire post.

IF you have to claim a draw by repetition then it's not correct according to the real chess rules, or am i wrong? If I understand the rules correctly: a game in chess will be drawn automatically if you repeat the same position 3 times.

Avatar of baddogno

No.  The rules here are based as much as possible on OTB tournament play where you don't automatically get a draw.  You have to take action by calling the TD over to confirm it.  Chess.com also requires that you take action.  There's no TD to call over, but chess.com can and does require you to claim it.

EDIT: I think what is confusing you is that your opponents have probably claimed all those draws in repeated positions and you weren't aware of it.

Avatar of DarkGrisen

So, here you can't draw a game by repetition if you are running out of time?

Avatar of Serphiot

You can, you just have to hit the 'Draw' button, probably your oponents did that for you.

Avatar of Lagomorph
DarkGrisen wrote:

IF you have to claim a draw by repetition then it's not correct according to the real chess rules, or am i wrong?

You are wrong I am afraid. In "real" chess a threefold repetition has to be claimed....it is not an automatic draw. You just press the "offer draw" button and if the conditions are met (threefold repetition) the game will then be drawn.

You can claim a draw at any time. Running low on time does not come into t as long as you can hit the draw button before your timer hits zero.

Avatar of Bilbo21

Your opponent probably pressed the draw button first, if no one says anything OTB it won't automatically be a draw.

Avatar of DarkGrisen

well... then it's exactly like "Game drawn by: agreement"

Avatar of Bilbo21

No, because the other player can't choose to not accept it

Avatar of Adilbala

There are two buttons . 1. " offer draw " .. This button appears always . If one presses this button the opponent has two choices : to accept a draw or to reject the offer of the draw . 2. The second button is " claim draw" . This button does NOT appear on the screen always. It only appears when threefold repetition takes place. If at this stage this button is pressed then the game is drawn and the opponent has no choice.If this button is not pressed then this means that the draw is not claimed and the game continues .

Avatar of Lagomorph

Hope that is all clear now.

Avatar of Pulpofeira
Adilbala escribió:

There are two buttons . 1. " offer draw " .. This button appears always . If one presses this button the opponent has two choices : to accept a draw or to reject the offer of the draw . 2. The second button is " claim draw" . This button does NOT appear on the screen always. It only appears when threefold repetition takes place. If at this stage this button is pressed then the game is drawn and the opponent has no choice.If this button is not pressed then this means that the draw is not claimed and the game continues .

I hadn't noticed that. I think it shouldn't be that difference, it's on you to be aware of the repetition, as it happens OTB.

Avatar of DarkGrisen

Now everything makes sense

Avatar of Pulpofeira

Yeah, definitely you must claim it! http://www.chessgames.com/perl/chessgame?gid=1106921&kpage=1

Avatar of blastforme

I think on C.c if you offer a draw at any point in the game, a draw by repetition occurring afterward will happen automatically.

Avatar of PossibleOatmeal
blastforme wrote:

I think on C.c if you offer a draw at any point in the game, a draw by repetition occurring afterward will happen automatically.

This should definitely not be the case and would absolutely be a bug if it were.

Avatar of Bilbo21
PossibleOatmeal wrote:
blastforme wrote:

I think on C.c if you offer a draw at any point in the game, a draw by repetition occurring afterward will happen automatically.

This should definitely not be the case and would absolutely be a bug if it were.

Yes, if you both want to keep playing, that's good and would happen OTB

Avatar of DarkGrisen

why do everyone keep explaining when i said that it makes sense?