Pussimatti

Mika Hamalainen
Nurmijärvi GTM/UTC +3, Finland
Joined
Jun 17, 2009
Last Login
5 hrs ago
Views
1,549
Followers
11
Points
35

Hi, I'm Mika Hämäläinen, my background is in arts and business, now I run a horse ranch and a family in southern Finland.

I enjoy chess for my own fun, to keep my mind busy while taking care of my 2 young children. I have never played in a "club" or tournaments, just over internet and sometimes with friends over a beer or two.

I also enjoy making new friends while playing, so my Chat is always on...

I like to play "systems", like Pirc, Colle, KIA - not because they are the best, but because those are not about remembering long lines of opening moves, but more about using certain kind of ideas. Not one game is the same, there are lot of tranpositions early on, but still you are on "familiar ground". Of course I try to mix some suprises along the road...

I do use books and "master games" I have collected from those lines, that is for my learning and according to rules. I don't use engines, and I hate them. I don't like to play against computer. My play is sometimes pretty decent, sometimes really bad, I have concentration problem (or two - one 3 year old and second 3 months) so I blunder a lot.

I hope to play with different level players all over the world, just challenge. ( I have 5 day minimum per move, but I usually make my moves couple times a day)

I also enjoy music (with some classical, jazz, punk, country...), good whiskeys, pipe smoking, history, woodworking and outdoors. Right now I working on Rococoo chess table.

Of, my Facebook account:http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?ref=name&id=626252902

Online Now