16352 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Could someone please thurily explain the fifth rank rule where you can capture a piece with your pawn as you "pass it"!?
It's called "en passant". One way of looking at it is that if your opponent moves a pawn 2 squares on it's first move, and thereby "skips" the square in which your pawn could capture it, then on your next move you can still capture that pawn as though it had only moved one square. Below is another explanation for this move which you can find, along with diagrams, by clicking "Chess Rules & Basics" under the "Learn" heading at the top of the page.
The last rule about pawns is called “en passant,” which is French basically means “in passing”. If a pawn moves out two squares on its first move, and by doing so lands to the side of an opponent’s pawn (effectively jumping past the other pawn’s ability to capture it), that other pawn has the option of capturing the first pawn as it passes by. This special move must be done immediately after the first pawn has moved past, otherwise the option to capture it is no longer available. Click through the example below to better understand this odd, but important rule.
Thank You a very good explanation!
For Deep Pockets Only-Jaques Ivory
by ROBB_CHESS 4 minutes ago
9/19/2014 - Eric Schiller vs. D.Jackson, 1996
by karobert 6 minutes ago
Chess Software Like Chessmaster, But For Mac?
by chr1s-u 10 minutes ago
Post your best miniatures here
by JamieDelarosa 12 minutes ago
Beat 1500+ (I'm under 900) ELO. What do you think?
by shockinn 21 minutes ago
"cheating message recieved"
by Benzodiazepine 24 minutes ago
When Playing Against Someone Who Doesn't Have Openings Memorized
by Petrosianic 31 minutes ago
The new Excalibur GameTime III?
by 9kick9 33 minutes ago
Need book with fork/pin/skewer/etc diagrams
by RogerOT 66 minutes ago
True or false? Chess will never be solved! why?
by watcha 66 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2014 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!