Forums

How to think

Sort:
Seraphimity

I found myself in this position today.  As black I felt I had the better of it but in trying to learn to critique my own games did not grasp what was most important as a next step or immediate goal.  To the more experianced players out there if you feel like it what would your thoughts be.  not looking for a heady analysis just a shoot from the hip "what you would do"  I did manage to gain a favorable position later in the game but lost due overlooking a secondary and thus what I thought was a forced win, alas was not.

ShaggyZ

I'm not very experienced so feel free to ignore but I probably would have moved queen to c7, aiming to castle long which would put rook on open d file, then try to put bishop on d4.

transpo

1...Qd4 (double threat 2...Qxa1 or 2...Qxe4)

ShaggyZ

1...Qd4 2. Bb2

waffllemaster

No idea if it's best, but on Qd4 there's:

Qd4 Bb7 Qxe4 Qxe4 Nxe4 and if Bxe5 then Nf2+ with Ng5 can pick up the bishop.

If instead after Qd4 Bb7 Qxe4 Re1 Qxe2 Rxe2 0-0-0 with Be5 seems to keep the pawn as well.

waffllemaster

To answer the OP's question, as black I'm encouraged by white's advanced pawns which may become targets.  e4 and f5 sure, but possibly also on the queenside after some exchanges.

e5 seems annoying to babysit (and is making his bishop better than yours due to the color), so I'd probably just let it go one way or another and plan to win e4 (or c4) in a move or two afterwards.

But all this is moot if you can safely win the e4 pawn directly with Qd4.

As with any plan it's useful to see it from white's perspective.  I think as white I'd want to attack the kingside as my pawns and cornered king don't make my endgame pleasant.  I'd likely want to get in f6 to break up the king's position if I can.  Otherwise I suspect black is just better.

Seraphimity

Intersting and ballsy Qd4.  I actually put my bishop on d4 and here is a the game.

Seraphimity