18104 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
played a game of chess today where my opponent castled. You can see a screen shot of the position on the board. One of the rules I found about castling is the following: The king moves through a square that is attacked by a piece of the opponen. Does the program used for playing chess on chess.com don't take this rue in consideration?
I took 2 screen shots to exemplify the positions where the castling took place.
Any help on the matter is much appreciated :)
The rule only applies to squares two to the left or right of the king. The opponent can attack b1 and you can still castle.
e could also castle Kingside,even though the rook is attacked
Easy one. The king did not move through a square attacked by an enemy piece, therefore the rule was not violated.
As others have said, the King didn't pass over any attacked squares, just the rook. To be fair, some famous Grandmaster--perhaps Tigran Petrosian-- was also confused about this rule and summoned the tournament director when his opponent castles in a position like yours! So don't feel bad.
Here's the way to think about it. There are 6 things that must be met to be able to castle:
1) The King can not castle out of check
2) The King can not castle over check
3) The King can not castle into check
4) The King can not have previously moved
5) The Rook it is castling with can not have previously moved
6) There can not be any pieces of either color in between the King and Rook.
If all 6 of these restrictions are met, you can castle. Doesn't matter if the Rook is under attack, or jumping a sqaure that's under attack. Only restriction with the Rook is that it hasn't moved.
I think it was Korchnoi?
Thanks a lot to you all for clarifying the matter!
Much appreciated : )
Well at least you've got that going for you
"FIDE Grand Prix, Round 8 | Hosts: GMs Evgeny Miroshnichenko and Viorel Iordachescu"
Who is batgirl and where does she get all that info?
by stuzzicadenti 5 minutes ago
Who Ever Invented Chess Made A Mistake
by The_Ghostess_Lola 8 minutes ago
Tactics Trainer, i'm very frustrated
by baddogno 9 minutes ago
King's Gambit accepted + Queen SACRIFICE!!!
by logozar 9 minutes ago
The game should let you swear
by TheronG12 13 minutes ago
6x 40/120 SD/30;d5
by Martin_Stahl 14 minutes ago
Admins: Spam alert, you may wish to check this
by Dio 16 minutes ago
Does ...Na5 refute the Yugoslav Attack?
by hayabusahayate16 16 minutes ago
5/22/2015 - Surya Ganguly - Emanuel Berg , Gibraltar, 2009
by drbedwetter 17 minutes ago
Oppa Carlsen Style!
by Anubhav_2000 17 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2015 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!