Forums

Do you think playing standard 30 minute game is beneficial for me

Sort:
idejanovic

For those who haven't read any of my previous questions little about myself. I am 34 years old full time employed father and husband. I am probably rated around 1200 - 1300 in real life. Never played a rated game so I have no official rating. I don't have a lot of time in my week for chess. Three, four hours at best.

I read articles on basic chess play, opening principles, couple of openings, not in depth because I would not understant it anyway. I play online games because I have noticed that if I take at least a minute and a half for each move I play three times better then when I play moves under a minute.

Online or CC if you prefer gives me time to find the best move my limited skill will allow me.

Recently I started playing 30 minutes live games here. If we take into account that this is under a minute per move, since my games always go 30+ moves, my question is will playing these games be counter productive for me? This is the last game I played live. I played all my moves in about nine minutes which is pretty fast for my level and made couple of mistakes which didn't cost me the game fortunately.

I went through the game after it was finished and I am still angry at myself. True I waited for my kid to go to sleep. I worked all day and I am tired and I could hardly wait to play some chess. I was very excited I won first game tonight but it was playing white against opponent which played very bad. I was so hyper before this game I just wanted another win.

But now looking at how bad I played I am wondering is 30min game to much for me at this point. I don't care about winning so much as I care about improving my game. I would rather lose all my matches in the next six month but improve my skill level 30%-40% then win all games but drop in skill level.

I read this thread

http://www.chess.com/forum/view/general/advice-for-a-casual-player-with-limited-spare-time