Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

en passant = Cheater!


  • 3 years ago · Quote · #1

    ikeicon

    It seems like it never fails, when ever I capture a pawn en passant (in-passing) I am accused of cheating. LOL! Surprised

     

     

    En passant (from French: in passing) is a move in the board game of chess (Brace 1977). It is a special pawn capture which can occur immediately after a player moves a pawn two squares forward from its starting position, and an opposing pawn could have captured it, had it moved only one square forward. The opponent captures the just-moved pawn as if taking it "as it passes" through the first square. The resulting position is the same as if the pawn had moved only one square forward and the opposing pawn had captured normally.

    The en passant capture must be done on the very next turn, or the right to do so is lost.[1] Such a move is the only occasion in chess in which a piece captures but does not move to the square of the captured piece (Burgess 2000:463). If an en passant capture is the only legal move available, it must be made. En passant capture is a common theme in chess compositions.

    This rule was added in the 15th century when the rule giving pawns the option of initially moving two squares was introduced. It prevents a pawn from using the two-square move to pass an adjacent opposing pawn without the risk of being captured (Hooper & Whyld 1992:124).

  • 3 years ago · Quote · #2

    kco

    whoa ! your first post since 2007 ! Laughing


Back to Top

Post your reply: