Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

How do i win this endgame?


  • 16 months ago · Quote · #1

    wtf_BobbyF

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    I had only 30 seconds left in my clock and he had like 2 minutes... so i accepted a draw by repetition but i was wondering if it is possible to win this game... PLEASE HELP ME! I WANT TO SLEEP TONITE!!!

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #2

    ColtronPence

    No, the bishop would have to be dark-squared to have a chance. The black king can force a draw in the top right corner

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #3

    NimzoRoy

    White wins because Black can't get to h8 ahead of White. If Black moves first 1...Ke5 draws, Black doesn't even have to hold on to his pawn.
  • 16 months ago · Quote · #4

    eddysallin

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 16 months ago · Quote · #5

    dogladyofparker

    Im sort of new at chess but I think if you moved your king and the bishop was on the same diagonal you could move it next to the black king who couldn't take you cause your bishop is there and it would put him in check  but I think white has a chance to win  I just read a rule that you can check with a king if you have a queen next to it but a  bishop on the same diagonal would accomplish the same thing

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #6

    wtf_BobbyF

    Thank u NimzoRoy! What about 3. ...Kh5!?

    Does white still win?

    EDIT: Nevermind, i just checked it and is still a win for white

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #7

    wtf_BobbyF

    Thank u paulgottlieb, i liked very much that i got a visual answer (nimzoroy) and a "words answer" (yours)... so i can read the ideas behind this endgame and then watch them in action... but you dont seem so convinced it is a win...

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #8

    MatchStickKing

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #9

    NimzoRoy

    paulgottlieb wrote:

    There must be an internet word for this! While I was typing away, NimzoRoy beat me to it with almost exactly the same ideas.

    "ninja'd" is the term you're looking for, I just learned it myself

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #10

    MatchStickKing

    eddysallin wrote:

    Forced draw.....sleep soundly.

    Forced win for white due to king position. Otherwise, with the black king being more active than it was you'd be right.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #11

    eddysallin

    [COMMENT DELETED]
  • 16 months ago · Quote · #14

    yeres30

    Nice easy-to-understand explanation of technique to get at the solution (i.e. Path1 and Path2).

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #15

    Casual_Joe

    wtf_BobbyF wrote:

    Thank u NimzoRoy! What about 3. ...Kh5!?

    Does white still win?

    EDIT: Nevermind, i just checked it and is still a win for white

    Can you elaborate?  It's not obvious to me why Black can't get to a8 after 3 Kh5...

    Edit:  Oh, now I see it:  Bf5 and Kf6.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #17

    Casual_Joe

    JMB2010 wrote:
    Casual_Joe wrote:
    wtf_BobbyF wrote:

    Thank u NimzoRoy! What about 3. ...Kh5!?

    Does white still win?

    EDIT: Nevermind, i just checked it and is still a win for white

    Can you elaborate?  It's not obvious to me why Black can't get to a8 after 3 Kh5...

    Edit:  Oh, now I see it:  Bf5 and Kf6.

    NimzoRoy's line is flawed, 3...Kh5 draws (see my comment) Instead in his line 3.Bg4! wins.

    Ah, I should've looked more carefully.  Good catch!

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #18

    wtf_BobbyF

    Thank u NM Splane, your explanation was the best, easy to understand... and a very good catch indeed by JMB

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #19

    wtf_BobbyF

    paulgottlieb wrote:

    They call him NM Splane 'cause he "splanes" things so clearly

    Bazinga!

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #20

    chess_oliver


Back to Top

Post your reply: