Forums

How to get through this 1200 wall

Sort:
hhnngg1

I just jumped from 1200 to 1300+, for more than trivial amounts of time. I too was STUCK at 1150-1200 for quite awhile!

I used to be one of those tactics,tactics, tactics guys, and thus I studied boatloads of tactics! But it was quite frustrating, as it definitely didn't seem to translate into play, either in blitz or OTB. Yes, I was still losing games to hidden tactics found by the computer analysis, but plenty of games where I didn't miss any big tactic, and just lost, even at 1150 level.

Even more importantly, my opponents were NOT 'out-tacticing' me. Even when they beat me on tactics, their tactics were SO easy to see, literally 2 movers, 3 at most, but I simply couldn't do anything against them, or had such a tough position to play that I'd have to see something very hard to survive. 

The 'breakthrough' for me, was to add just a little bit of positional knowledge to my tactics. There's unfortunately no failsafe, easy or even totally logical way to do this, but what I found worked for me was a combo of watching videos of ChessNetwork play blitz (he's a very positional player), and playing through games in the opening that I use and not just trying to memorize the opening moves (kinda useless), but to see what the main setups are and what the main problems they run into. 

I know, sounds 'mushy', but seriously, after about 2 months of just sprinkling this stuff into my tactical training (and still doing tactics on top), it made all the difference. Games started feeling a lot more balanced and fair, in that I was winning with tactics that didn't feel crazy impossible, and opponents blunder MUCH more because you are putting some positional pressure on them through the whole game (I've had a few of 1400+ players hang queens on me outright when it gets messy.)