Forums

Realistic improvement expectations

Sort:
chessnerdbird

http://main.uschess.org/component/option,com_wrapper/Itemid,181/

I attached a link that takes you to my rating supplement for the USCF. You can click around and find out my actual tournament performances too but this is a rough estimate of a real life experience.

The background:
I started playing chess in 2001 when I was 12 years old. I then played in the chess club in 8th grade. We were not associated with the USCF in any way but we just played for fun. I stopped playing in about 2005. I would estimate my rating then to be around 1000 USCF if I had to guess.

I picked chess back up last year around March and since then I have played blitz games (time and time again against stronger and weaker players), I have studied tactics (Forcing Chess Moves, Improve Your Chess Tactics, and Tactics Trainer on chess.com), I have studied a little of My System (mainly the first two chapters only). I have played in several tournaments and I play in a 5 week long tournament at my club where we play one game each week with time control of G/90 5/D. If you didn't go to the link my rating went from 1277 (after provisional ratings) in Ocotber of last year to my latest supplement rating which would be August of this year at 1494 (recently when down from 1524 after playing badly in a couple tournaments).  

So I would say that would be reasonable expectations if you study a little bit and play games. If you put more time in and analyze your games deeper and longer and study with people stronger than you. Also, I believe with the ability to grasp information and apply it quicker than myself you could improve faster rating wise as well. 

I hope that is more of answer you were looking for than some of these other answers.

ps.