Forums

Which is generally stronger? a queen or two rooks?

Sort:
ANDREW_JAY_JR

yes it depends on position of rooks for sure. also skill level, a queen is easier for novice. i would take the queen and a positional advantage, or the rooks with the same. 

MissBlueTally

I initially get excited if I can trade my 2 Rooks for a Queen but the opponents 2 Rooks usually cause me a pain.

Nordlandia

Two rook vs three minors is rare in practise but interesting as well.  

Zundapp200

i think 2 rooks

drmrboss
StanleyIQ wrote:

it depends on the position and the opponent bro

even though im a noob.....

That is correct. Judit Polgar said, KQ is better in closed position , KRR is better in open position.

As there are all subjective.

Luckily we have got 100% correct objective data, for up to 7 men.

All possible position of KQP vs KRRP is more than 1 trillion positions, 1,000,000,000,000 .

KRRP won in 370 billion  positions (37%)

KQP won in 310 billion positions (31%)

320 billion positions are draw (31.5%)

https://syzygy-tables.info/?fen=3rkr2/5p2/8/8/8/8/5P2/4KQ2_w_-_-_0_1

So KRRP has slightly more chance of winning.

aarongull

need to know what else is on the board.

drmrboss
aarongull wrote:

You can put additional pieces on the board!! But it will take massive computing power to force calculate all those possible positions! My estimated guess is,

If you use current common desktop 4 cores pc, it will take

100+ years to calculate 8 men table-base.

10000+ years to calculate 9 men table-base

SmyslovFan
drmrboss wrote:
aarongull wrote:

You can put additional pieces on the board!! But it will take massive computing power to force calculate all those possible positions! My estimated guess is,

Or, you could simply go through a database and see the average scores of GMs for a given configuration. 

ponz111