Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Three fold repetition rule


  • 16 months ago · Quote · #61

    Scottrf

    That is strange. When I've had it, the button has changed to 'claim draw'. You still don't get that now?

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #62

    xxPrincess_Beckyxx

    No, there's no draw button there now just a message saying that I have a pending draw offer. Before I pressed the button it just said "offer draw" although it wasn't my turn to move if that makes any difference?

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #63

    Scottrf

    No, this would only allow you to claim the draw after you moved anyway because the software requires it to actually appear on the board unlike OTB where you'd claim in advance of your move.

    Looks like a bug.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #64

    xxPrincess_Beckyxx

    Yes that's what I thought, if my opponent doesn't agree to a draw and the same position happens again I'll report it as a bug then and see what they say.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #65

    RG1951

    LongIslandMark wrote:

    It could also be a system performance issue. To make the button say "claim a draw" if there was a three-fold repetition, say after black move 40, the server would have to compare 80 board positions and do that before it presented the opponents move to you so you would know you could claim the draw. Multiple that by the number of live games going on at once.

    As it is now, it only has to check all the previous board positions when you click the "draw" button.

    I do like the automatic checkmate. Otherwise the server would have to allow illegal moves. Similar would be when your opponent castles but was not leagally alowed to, moves a piece to the wrong square, etc. That would just be crazy, with folks making ilegal moves hoping you don't notice. 

            If I remember correctly, in online chess on this site, the "offer draw" click-on changes to "claim draw" when three fold repetition occurs.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #66

    Irontiger

    xxPrincess_Beckyxx wrote:
    Thanks for the response here is the game, it is still in progress though so wasn't sure if I would be allowed to post it.
     

    The repetition occurs after move 45 is played. Are you sure you offered the draw after having played it ?

    EDIT : of course you ought be able to claim it now. I am offering a technical explanation as to why it's impossible, not a moral one.

  • 16 months ago · Quote · #67

    RG1951

    LongIslandMark wrote:
    RG1951 wrote:
    LongIslandMark wrote:

    [...]

            If I remember correctly, in online chess on this site, the "offer draw" click-on changes to "claim draw" when three fold repetition occurs.

    I can't say I've noticed that. Not arguing - scottrf says it does.

            I could swear I've taken advantage of this once before.


Back to Top

Post your reply: