Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Women's World Championship First Round Completed

  • SonofPearl
  • on 11/13/12, 2:30 PM.

womens%20world%20chess%20championship%202012%20logo.jpgEight tie-breaks from the first round of the Women's World Championship were completed today in Khanty-Mansiysk, leaving 32 players to advance to the second round.

Three of the tie-breaks were decided by the 2-game rapid playoff games at 25 minutes plus 10 second increment.

Natalia Pogonina and Alisa Galliamova both advanced with a 2-0 score, while Cuban Maritza Arribas Robaina defeated her higher rated opponent Bela Khotenashvili of Georgia 1½-½.

Natalia Pogonina (right) won her tie-break 2-0

..

.

.
That left 5 matches remaining at an even quicker time control of 10 minutes plus 10 second increment.  At this stage 3 more players overcame their opponents: Ju Wenjun, Elina Danielian and Lela Javakhishvili.

Ju Wenjun (left) advanced to the second round

.

.

That left 2 matches still undecided.  Irina Krush won her match against Li Ruofan of Singapore in blitz games (5 minutes plus 3 second increment) by a score of 1½-½, and Maria Muzychuk needed to draw with black in the final Armageddon game to book her place in round 2.

All games are available for replay at the official website.

Irina Krush (right) needed bliz games before defeating her opponent

.


.

The pairings for the second round are:

Hou, Yifan (CHN) – Socko, Monika (POL)

Koneru, Humpy (IND) – Zhukova, Natalia (UKR)

Muzychuk, Anna (SLO) – Ushenina, Anna (UKR)

Zhao, Xue (CHN) – Khurtsidze, Nino (GEO)

Lahno, Kateryna (UKR) – Javakhishvili, Lela (GEO)

Kosintseva, Nadezhda (RUS) – Mkrtchian, Lilit (ARM)

Cmilyte, Viktorija (LTU) – Huang, Qian (CHN)

Sebag, Marie (FRA) – Girya, Olga (RUS)

Gunina, Valentina (RUS) – Galliamova, Alisa (RUS)

Cramling, Pia (SWE) – Krush, Irina (USA)

Kosintseva, Tatiana (RUS) – Hoang, Thanh Trang (HUN)

Harika, Dronavalli (IND) – Danielian, Elina (ARM)

Arribas Robaina, Maritza (CUB) – Muzychuk, Mariya (UKR)

Kosteniuk, Alexandra (RUS) – Pogonina, Natalija (RUS)

Ju, Wenjun (CHN) – Zatonskih, Anna (USA)

Stefanova, Antoaneta (BUL) – Zhu, Chen (QAT)

.

The schedule is below. Games start at 15:00 local time (09:00 UTC).

Date Day Event
11.11.2012 Sunday Round I - game 1
12.11.2012 Monday Round I - game 2
13.11.2012 Tuesday Tiebreak
14.11.2012 Wednesday Round II- game 1
15.11.2012 Thursday Round II- game 2
16.11.2012 Friday Tiebreak
17.11.2012 Saturday Round III- game 1
18.11.2012 Sunday Round III- game 2
19.11.2012 Monday Tiebreak
20.11.2012 Tuesday Round IV- game 1
21.11.2012 Wednesday Round IV- game 2
22.11.2012 Thursday Tiebreak
23.11.2012 Friday Round V- game 1
24.11.2012 Saturday Round V- game 2
25.11.2012 Sunday Tiebreak
26.11.2012 Monday Free Day
27.11.2012 Tuesday Round VI - game 1 final
28.11.2012 Wednesday Round VI - game 2 final
29.11.2012 Thursday Round VI - game 3 final
30.11.2012 Friday Round VI - game 4 final
01.12.2012 Saturday Tiebreak
02.12.2012 Sunday Closing Ceremony

.

The 2012 championship runs from 11 November - 2 December, with each round consisting of 2-game matches (4 in the final) between the players drawn against one another. Tied matches are decided by rapid and blitz tie-break deciders.

Pictures via the official website. Games via TWIC.

2721 reads 12 comments
One Vote

Comments


  • 2 years ago

    ferdinandplebie

    go natalia

  • 2 years ago

    nyLsel

    Congratulations Natalia.

  • 2 years ago

    KamranKazemi

    28.b4 چرا خانم پورکاشیان

  • 2 years ago

    roslan

    I hope amzing games in this tournament, especially from Natalia Pogonina, Hou Yifan, Koneru Humpy. Please...

  • 2 years ago

    SuddenGun007

    Congratulations to you, I wish I could play against the French with such precision as white.

  • 2 years ago

    WGM Natalia_Pogonina

    @Bamaknight Thank you!

  • 2 years ago

    Henry_Chen

    Go China!

  • 2 years ago

    Bamaknight

    Well done Natalia.  We are pulling for you!

  • 2 years ago

    bagpiper123456

    Why are they using the old knockout style championship?

Back to Top

Post your reply: