Upgrade to Chess.com Premium!

Comments


  • 2 months ago

    GabrieleMiceli

    King Stig is right :) First white must check with Re6+, black king moves and Then Rg5 winning!

  • 6 months ago

    King_Stig

    At 8:09 : And how do you respond to Rxg7? (with the plan Kxg7 Kxe5) You just blundered the draw! ;)

  • 6 months ago

    raymondburwell30

    Holes in my knowledge?! I've been a member for a while, My OTB rating had declined. So I started from the beginning of " study plans". There I found King and pawn knowledge, and rook and pawn knowledge. That I thought I knew?! I will master these subjects! Thanks! I believe this will help me become a expert/master. Rated 1600+, was almost 1900?!  Thanks again IM Rensch!

  • 7 months ago

    coolchess12345

     thanks IM Rensch. Helped me a lot

  • 7 months ago

    Marc_R

    Another interesting variant (at least to me, but I share it anyway Smile) is if White has the rook on the h-file, in which case their king is protected from checks:

    The final rook capture seems to be a common pattern in this type of endgame (occurs also in video 2, but there it's the defender who loses the rook)

  • 7 months ago

    Marc_R

    To answer my own question below about ...Rh4 with the consequence that White cannot build the bridge anymore: White doesn't need the bridge, because Black's rook is too close (at least for the moment):



  • 7 months ago

    Marc_R

    In the Philidor Defense: would it make sense to say that, as the defender, one should give check from the side whenever possible? I've played a bit against the computer, not following this potential rule, and the situation became the following (diagram removed in edit; see new one below). So, Black doesn't have to move the pawn and can enter the third rank with the king. Is this lost for White? EDIT: I guess it doesn't lead anywhere for Black:



  • 7 months ago

    Marc_R

    Great video! I've learned a great deal already, and I am looking forward to the other ones. Has anyone thought about the position when it's Black to move and they play 1...Rh4? In my analysis, white cannot build the bridge anymore, and the game


    turns into a queen-vs-rook endgame. Have I overlooked something?

  • 8 months ago

    Dark_Shepherd

    Great video series, thanks!

  • 8 months ago

    tonightatsix

    Very instructive!  Thank you, IM Rensch!:) 

     

    Note to anybody who came straight to this video knowing NOTHING about endgames like me,  if you feel confused, I recommend watching Pawn Endgames series by IM Zierk first, and then come back to this IM Rensch's series.  I watched the whole Pawn Endgames series twice and then came back to this series and now I'm able to follow what's being taught :)  Good luck!     

  • 9 months ago

    Sickliquid

    While testing this possition against a 3rd party computer, I came across a rather interesting move for black.

    If after 1:Re2+,Kd6 2:Re4,Rg1 3:Kf7,Rf1+ 4:Kg6,Rg1+ 5:Kf6 ..,Kd5 is played, white's idea of Re7 will no longer work. In this case, white should instead play 6:Re5+, and after 6..,Kd4 white plays 7:Rg5 which is winning for white, because, after 7..,Rf1+ white has 8:Kg6

    These videos are amazing and I find myself to be extremely tempted to jump too far ahead and watch video after video. By analysing these positions over the board against a strong (computer) opponent, you tend to run in to these kind of tricky positions, which amplifies the abillity to remember and master these techniques/positions.

  • 10 months ago

    LacksCreativity

    These are so important to know

  • 10 months ago

    john-warner

    Watching the series for my second time....Great stuff!

    Please be relevant, helpful & nice!

  • 11 months ago

    MatDenoncourt

    inspiresquare it is not a chess ingine it is the java play key positoin Vs computer link on this page. i have tryed it on many computer...

  • 11 months ago

    InspiredSquare

    Mat.. it is not a draw.. any king v. king/rook played correctly is automatically winning.  Get a new chess engine is all I can say.

  • 11 months ago

    MatDenoncourt

  • 12 months ago

    petererkkij

    I calculated 2. Kf8 instead of the bridge-spirited 2. Re4.  It seems to me to be winning as well after 2...Rf1+ 3.Ke8 Rg1 4. Re7 and then e.g. 4...Rg2 5. Kf8 Rf2+ 6. Rf7.  Perhaps black's "best" try is 1...Kd7 then?  

    On 1...Kd7 my plan doesn't work, since the e8 square is not available to the white king.  Can anyone tell me if I've goofed up on my 2.Kf8 line?  

    IM Rensch I promise I'll learn 2.Re4 anyway!

  • 15 months ago

    IM DanielRensch

    Thanks everyone. Flattered Embarassed

  • 16 months ago

    BFS1971

    18:40 Ha ha, "You're a dummy if you move here...".

  • 17 months ago

    RayDelColle

    Thanks for teaching me the Lucena and Philidor Endgame positions. I have been playing chess for many years and I never knew about them. Now I feel so enlightened. Chess is not so willy nilly. It is more precise ... like the Laws of Algebra! Be Well! 

Back to Top

Post your reply: