is castling with 2 hands still legal?

Sort:
Avatar of Kowarenai

I posted this in the general forums, but I should have asked here since you know US chess rules better. I remember it being legal about 8 or 9 years ago when Hikaru played Nepo in the world cup armageddon tiebreak. Hikaru said it was legal then, but I’m unsure if it still is. Is it?

Avatar of Rooster-1992AIC

Castling must be done with one hand, which moves the king and rook separately.

Avatar of StackofBread

also important to note that you have to move the king first; it's specified in the rules that if you move the rook first, then that is the move you play(ie: Rf1 instead of O-O)

Avatar of Rooster-1992AIC

Oh, yeah; the king has to be moved first. Forgot about that.

Avatar of Kowarenai
StackofBread wrote:

also important to note that you have to move the king first; it's specified in the rules that if you move the rook first, then that is the move you play(ie: Rf1 instead of O-O)

so I am asking IS IT STILL LEGAL cause it was before idk if its NOW STILL LEGAL

Avatar of Ziryab

In USCF rules, I find no prohibition of using both hands. Moreover, king and rook can be touched simultaneously, which would seem to indicate more than one hand is being used.

https://new.uschess.org/sites/default/files/media/documents/us-chess-rule-book-online-only-edition-chapters-1-2-10-11-9-1-20.pdf

FIDE rules differ.

Avatar of Kowarenai

aight thanks

Avatar of Kowarenai
Ziryab wrote:

In USCF rules, I find no prohibition of using both hands. Moreover, king and rook can be touched simultaneously, which would seem to indicate more than one hand is being used.

https://new.uschess.org/sites/default/files/media/documents/us-chess-rule-book-online-only-edition-chapters-1-2-10-11-9-1-20.pdf

FIDE rules differ.

also out of curiosity in what section did you find it for future reference?

Avatar of Kowarenai

also wait those rules are updated for 2025 right? the rule book is from 2018

Avatar of Ziryab

It says 7th edition, which is current. I don’t know why it shows the older copyright date.

Avatar of GreaneKnight

If one uses both hands, there's always the chance of touching the Rook first, so why run the risk?

Further, if there's no witness, the opponent can always claim that the Rook was touched first.

Using one hand leaves no room for doubt or dispute.

Avatar of iceblastor

hmmm... I don't know about 2 hands. I never did that. Though, while we're on the subject, is it Legal to castle with 1 hand, in 1 motion? Grabbing the king then knocking the rook to f8 and King to g8? I've always done this, especially in blitz for over 15 years. No idea if it's legal in a tournament--but either way, I did grab the King first then moved the Rook before punching the clock..?

Avatar of iceblastor
Rooster-1992AIC wrote:

Castling must be done with one hand, which moves the king and rook separately.

What if you it's done with 1 hand and in 1 motion?

Avatar of Rooster-1992AIC

As long as you touch the king first, maybe. But I think you have to sit the king down before you can legally move another piece, such as a the rook, even if you just bump it around—which would probably mean you would be forced to put it back where it had been, because moving it like that wouldn’t be allowed.

Avatar of DavidMertz1

I found a document on the USCF site listing the differences between FIDE and USCF rules. It has this to say:

"The US Chess rules do not have an explicit rule requiring moves to be made with one hand (except in blitz). This is implied, however, by rule 16B1. The director may assess a penalty for using both hands to move or for pressing the clock without moving (unless the rules explicitly allow the player to press the clock, such as forcing the opponent to replace a promoted pawn with a piece on his/her own time). The penalty is likely to be a warning for the first infraction."

I think when they said 16B1 they meant 16C1, which says "Each player must operate the clock with the same hand that moves the pieces."