*I am not a TD, nor do I have the USCF rulebook memorized*
I believe that since Kg4 was the first illegal move, your opponent could definitely argue that they would be able to claim the win. However, it may be up to the tournament director, I’m not 100% sure. I feel as if something similar happened in some chess tournament with Hikaru a little while ago that I heard about, not sure if anyone here remembers that but was wondering if they would know how it was resolved.
This question arises from a casual blitz game I played with someone I know a few months ago. I don't remember the position, so this is just a random example:
Let's say I was black here, and it's my move. Seeing as I was in a hopeless position, I went for a cheap trick here– Kg4, to hope he hangs his king. My opponent, who was completely focused on the other side of the board, does not move his king, and plays a move on the queenside. I take his king and claim a win. He says this is not allowed, since it's illegal to take a king with a king (at least I think that's what he said).
My opponent is a more experienced and higher-level TD than I am, so I believed them, but I just want to clarify. Again, it was just casual, but assuming we were playing by USCF blitz rules, what would be the ruling here? If taking the king is not allowed there, am I supposed to claim that they made an illegal move without taking the king? Or am I even able to claim a win there?
Thanks in advance!