Random Dog Tournament: Round 1 Match (evert823 v Marks1420)

Sort:
Avatar of evert823

I only saw the comment from BattleChessGN18 after posting the move Ne5. I assume that once Marks posts a legal move instead of #18 0-0-0, I can do a different move instead of #20 Ne5.

Avatar of Marks1420

Forgot how my own piece worked, that's embarrassing.

7... M-A

Avatar of evert823

Ne5 then

Avatar of BattleChessGN18

TW

Avatar of Marks1420

8... Nxe5

Avatar of evert823

I take back with Bishop

Avatar of Marks1420

9... Wf8

Avatar of evert823

Bxb7

Avatar of Marks1420

10... Rb8

Avatar of evert823

Bxc8

Avatar of Marks1420

11... Rxc8

Avatar of evert823

Nh3

Avatar of Marks1420

I have a question about how the TT works. I am considering Bh4. Lets say you do nothing and play a3. If I then play Bxg3, can you play TTxh4?

After Bh4 the TT is "attacking" through the transparent witch. However, after I take, the TT can no longer "see" the square where the bishop came from. Can it capture on a square that it can't move to? After looking at the threads with TT rules, I don't see this covered.

Avatar of Puzzles

Wow, I've been following this game and this makes me curious as well.

Avatar of BattleChessGN18

Special abilities in Bulldog can conflict with and confuse each other. Indeed.

There is only a clause that disallows your captured enemy TT to reverse your capture on it; its special ability is only valid every moment it is on the board. When it's captured, it is not.

With that said, the rules, as it's written now (3/12/2024, 11am PST), do not specify that capturing an enemy Witch would prohibits the capture from being reversed when previously her transparency has caused your piece performing the capture to be in your enemy TT's line-of-sight.

As the gamehost, my verdict: reversing the capture of the Witch in this position is allowed; as with any and all future situations of the same.

post updated (1pm, PST): I played out the scenario on the board myself and gave it some further thought. To reverse a capture involving a transparent piece when the transparent piece is no longer there is quite awkward. So, I'm reversing my verdict: in order to be in line with a captured TT unable to reverse itself having been captured, a TT cannot reverse a move involving an enemy allied (corrected, per @Marks1420 tip) transparent piece, if that transparent piece is no longer there at current. Whether it's literally written into the rules or not, I think it's simply intuitive to keep that way.

 

Avatar of Marks1420

" in order to be in line with a captured TT unable to reverse itself having been captured, a TT cannot reverse a move involving an enemy transparent piece, if that transparent piece is no longer there at current. "

Don't you mean a friendly transparent piece?

Avatar of BattleChessGN18

Yes, I do. Typo's corrected.

Avatar of evert823
Marks1420 wrote:

I have a question about how the TT works. I am considering Bh4. Lets say you do nothing and play a3. If I then play Bxg3, can you play TTxh4?

After Bh4 the TT is "attacking" through the transparent witch. However, after I take, the TT can no longer "see" the square where the bishop came from. Can it capture on a square that it can't move to? After looking at the threads with TT rules, I don't see this covered.

Let's indeed hypothetically say that you play Bh4 and I play a3. Then we must consider this position, and answer the question: can the TT see the Bishop on square h4 yes or no? The answer is yes. That is what gives the TT the postponed capture power, also in the situation described here.

Link to the rules:

https://www.chess.com/clubs/forum/view/the-time-thief-explained-v2

Avatar of Marks1420

Let's take it one step further for clarity's sake. Are you saying that if white plays Bxe4, black can respond with TTxg2?

Based on the current posted rules, there is no clarification as to whether that would be legal or not. The time thief would be utilizing transparency of a piece that is no longer providing transparency.

Avatar of VM_LeaderAbhyudaya

Wait... White just played Nh3 so the TT would see the bishop no matter what the decision is on the topic.