forcing a draw

Sort:
Avatar of Matakeh
Question. i played a game this morning, I knew I wouldnt win but I had a feeling he would be able to mate my K. He end up locking my K leaving me no space to move and it ends up as a draw. should I have resign? (I tried to share the board but i dont think i can from my cell)
Avatar of GMPatzer

No happy.png

Avatar of JocelynStainbrook
No
Avatar of TheRealMicster
Draws arguably are better than a loss.
Avatar of Moonwarrior_1

Nah always aim for a draw in a losing position completely fair

Avatar of astronomer111

Sometimes when my opponent fails to resign when completely lost, like naked K vs K, N, R and 3P, I'll promote all the Ps and then go to stalemate or offer a draw. We aren't playing for the world championship here, after all.

Avatar of Made_in_Shoreditch

No you should not have resigned. White clearly demonstrated they had no idea of the most elementary of the elementary checkmate positions. See my annotation at the 84th move...

 

Avatar of nereeren

Only resign if a easy forced mate and you have no counter, like a lone king vs. king and two rooks OR you are playing against a very strong player (like engines and titled players) and they are winning by a lot.

But don't forget there's a chance for 50-move rule, repetion, timeout ("timeout vs. insufficient material" if you don't have sufficient material to checkmate) and stalemate, like what happened in your game.