Forums

Is it possible to checkmate with King and rook against king and knight?

Sort:
paul-977

I just had a game where I had only my rook left and my opponent only one knight. I tried to checkmate him but I couldn't do it. It ended up being a draw by 50 move-rule. Is it even possible?

Martin_Stahl
paul-977 wrote:

I just had a game where I had only my rook left and my opponent only one knight. I tried to checkmate him but I couldn't do it. It ended up being a draw by 50 move-rule. Is it even possible?

I think in most cases it's going to be a draw if the defending side plays correctly.

borovicka75
It is theoretical draw but hard to hold in time trouble.
Master_Naval
paul-977 wrote:

I just had a game where I had only my rook left and my opponent only one knight. I tried to checkmate him but I couldn't do it. It ended up being a draw by 50 move-rule. Is it even possible?

In most of the cases it is a draw but in some positions you can win by trapping the knight

Mazetoskylo

Generally the ending is an easy draw- much easier than the Rook vs Bishop one. But there are few cases where the side with the rook can force a win.

tygxc

@5

From an Arab manuscript of 1257 in the British Museum: black to play, white wins

gmFunkPhenomena

If enemy N is FAR from his own K then it can be trapped or can be dbl attacked with mate threat, but most cases if N is beside his own K its just a draw

cutekayla

If all you have is a Knight and King, your out of luck and cannot win. If you have a King and Rook, you can win the game with the right moves.

tygxc

@8

"If all you have is a Knight and King, your out of luck and cannot win."
++ False:

"If you have a King and Rook, you can win the game with the right moves."
++ No, most often it is a draw. There are some exceptions. E.g. from an Arabic manuscript of 1146: white to play and win: checkmate in 19 moves:

cutekayla

Interesting I always thought that it was impossible to win with only the Knight.

GabeMiami10

it is. but the other pieces add a smother effect

Chessflyfisher
cutekayla wrote:

If all you have is a Knight and King, your out of luck and cannot win. If you have a King and Rook, you can win the game with the right moves.

Well, you can't win with the wrong moves!

Chessflyfisher
borovicka75 wrote:
It is theoretical draw but hard to hold in time trouble.

I think that it's hard to win in time trouble!

shubham

It is possible only in 2 conditions

> King and Knight are far away from each other.

> King and Knight both are in Corner.

King_Devzev

always possible if ur opponents dumbwk

oyjunior

with best play, it's a draw

AMZboiepic3356

Just look at the engine, it’ll tell you the answer. Although, it is a draw with best play

Alexandrehanher

😊