Forums

The rule of square (video)

Sort:
Solakas

Do you know the rule of square?

I decided to start some articles about the new players in chess showing them some rules and motifs that I learned all these years I play chess. 

Why endgames are so important ?

Every phase of the game is important but the new players in chess cannot win a game from the opening. They might get a little (or a lot) better but not win unless the opponent makes a huge blunder. However if they arrive in a winning endgame and they know how to win the game is over. Even if they play the WCC GM Magnus Carlsen if they know how to win a winning endgame the game is over.

The rule of square. 

Many times in chess we want to calculate as fast as possible if an advanced pawn is fast enough to promote. Another serious concern is how close we have to keep our king in order to catch the pawn before it promotes. There is the rule of square saying that if our king can enter the square being drawn by the diagonal of the square the enemy's pawn stands after move then he is fast enough to catch the pawn.

Confused?

Watch the video to see 2 very useful examples on it

Tasos_1991

πολύ καλό Πάνο ευχαριστούμε.

 

Solakas

Ευχαριστώ Τάσσο. Θα ακολουθήσουν και άλλα σύντομα

 

JudasPriestGR

πολυ ωραιο βιντεο

Solakas

Ευχαριστώ πολύ σύντομα θα ανεβάσω και τα υπόλοιπα

newinnew

Πολύ καλό και βασικό στην θεωρία...

cyrilgeorge

Thank you, Solakas., for  uploading this interesting article. A solid chess player has to master endgame techniques, so that , after he has survived through the middlegame, does not throw away victory.  We are looking forward for your next article.

Giorgos_Aletras

πολυ ωραιο βιντεο

clarapca

hey thank for the article I didn't know about the rule it easier than calculate. Like a hack happy.png

eric0022

There are exceptions though, so please use the rule wisely. One such exception is as follows.

 

 

The position at the start appears as though Black is able to reach the White pawn. However, thanks to the 2-square advancement option for White's rank 2 pawns and Black's rank 7 pawns, the pawn has escaped the scope of the Black king's catchment areas.

Solakas

Eric there is no exception. You should always calculate the square after your opponents move wink.png So if after that move you can enter the square you can capture the pawn 

eric0022
Solakas wrote:

Eric there is no exception. You should always calculate the square after your opponents move  So if after that move you can enter the square you can capture the pawn 

 

Still, it is good to know it, as the position (or something similar) may appear after a series of exchanges that simplify to the position, and long calculation skills may be needed beforehand.

 

Actually, if I remember correctly, there do exist special scenarios (not sure how many, although these probably cannot be classified as an exception to the rule). I show you the only example that I can remember at the moment. It was an endgame study by Richard Reti.

 

 

In this case, if the Black pawn continues its path all the way to h1, the White king can travel towards the White pawn to assist it into promotion. Both pawns promote together, resulting in a draw. Else, as per the diagram, if the Black king stops the White pawn from promoting. the White king can catch up with the Black pawn.