*How* do I claim a draw?
(Sorry for using a 3-year old post. But figured it made sense here, actually.)
*How* do I claim a draw?
(Sorry for using a 3-year old post. But figured it made sense here, actually.)
Never mind. Found the answer here:
https://support.chess.com/customer/portal/articles/1444798-how-do-i-claim-a-draw-
May I ask of the exepreinced among us when trying to understand the apparent 'absurd' rule of a player able to claim a "DRAW" after three same moves -although not neccessarily three in a row??!!!
What a rude rule when they don't even have to be consecutive..or am I misunderstanding this rule??
Come on members-when do you apply this rule??
I just applied this rule in a game about 10 days ago. I was losing. I made a risky sacrifice that opened my opponent up to checks which didn't have a chance of mating. The opponent either had to:
My job is to setup situations where my opponent has to make unpleasant choices. His job is to outplay me so that I make the desperate sacrifices which result in that kind of attack. That's chess.
If the position, not moves, is about to be repeated three times, yes one may claim a draw. "In a row" makes no difference at all. Dynamic possibilities count here: en passant and castling potentials must match as well, e.g. a rook that has moved may return to its original position, and may seem to match earlier positions, but the inability to castle breaks the match when it existed in the earlier positions.
This draw rule is called Draw by Repetition of Position.
Had a rule dispute when I claimed a draw by threefold repitition but TD claimed that the moves have to repeat 3x. Tried to appeal but TD said that his rulebook was "in the car". Terrible management and got a loss when it was a draw. This was in a scholastic tournament.
If the position, not moves, is about to be repeated three times, yes one may claim a draw. "In a row" makes no difference at all. Dynamic possibilities count here: en passant and castling potentials must match as well, e.g. a rook that has moved may return to its original position, and may seem to match earlier positions, but the inability to castle breaks the match when it existed in the earlier positions.
This draw rule is called Draw by Repetition of Position.
Had a rule dispute when I claimed a draw by threefold repitition but TD claimed that the moves have to repeat 3x. Tried to appeal but TD said that his rulebook was "in the car". Terrible management and got a loss when it was a draw. This was in a scholastic tournament.
Yep that sucks. If you are K-8 just remember that most of your teachers came from the bottom 1/3rd of their class. If you are HS well just think about who is TD for scholastic tournaments. It gets better.
Can someone tell me what is mean 3 times some posision? means exacly the some posible move 3 times and with the some player to play? if both blayer bo cycle the rocks or the knight is still cound some possision? tnx from the info.
So according to FIDE Rules (see 9.2.) there are two situations when the claim is correct:
a) your opp moved and position now on board has appeared (at least) the third time. In that case just stop the clock and claim the draw.
b) After your next move the same position will appear (at least) the third time. In that case write down your move, but dont make the move! Then stop the clock, and claim the draw.