Forums

How many games should you play before you beat 1000

Sort:
wacheese22
I’ve been playing chess regularly for a couple months and I feel like I have not gotten any better. I feel like I have played a lot and yet I’m stuck in the 800-900 rating, Am I just terrible or is there something I am missing?
MisterWindUpBird

Well that's a strange ratings range. People who join on PC get to choose their ratings range when they join, and lots of them under or over estimate their ability. So as a result there are quite decent (or better,) players fighting their way up from 800, and better than my drunk uncle 1200's spiralling down. Until you get past 1100 you're like a chunk of bread that's fallen into the fondue set, mired in that greasy mess... That may be what you what you were missing, or maybe you really are the cheese. You need to study systematically to really improve much, unless you're a gifted genius on the way to a title. 

MisterWindUpBird

Looking at your stats you've taken a couple of long breaks... Your right, of course... then your ratings dips, naturally enough, then you fight back to square one, then you take a break, then your rating dips, naturally enough, etc. Do you see the pattern?

wacheese22
Thanks for the advice, I agree I should probably start playing chess more consistently.
wacheese22
By study systematically, what exactly do you mean? Just have some structure to my studying?
NotChirag

I Started from 400 rating in rapid.... and i didnt know about Skill level affects starting rating .. I simply choose "new to chess" which was default ...

KiritoKamado

Tbh, if you wanna get better at chess, I'm 1012, the only reason is, GOTHAMCHESS! Watching instructors is in my opinion the best way to learn tactics for free.

JohnNapierSanDiego

wacheese, I decided to go to your profile and look at some of the games you've played.  You don't understand basic theory.  It's no wonder your rating is so bad.

peeko4