stalemate

eric0022
hmchessuser wrote:

You get a stalemate when your opponent cannot move, but they are not in check.

 

So if my opponent (not the pieces) is paralysed and his/her paralysis has not been checked by a doctor, does it mean the situation is a stalemate?

MARattigan
eric0022 wrote:
...

Or it could arise if a White knight captures, say, some rook on d7 and it would currently be Black to move.

Yes. My point was really that you specified White to move (and even in the absence of a specification I think White to play would be conventionally assumed).

eric0022
MARattigan wrote:
eric0022 wrote:
...

Or it could arise if a White knight captures, say, some rook on d7 and it would currently be Black to move.

Yes. My point was really that you specified White to move (and even in the absence of a specification I think White to play would be conventionally assumed).

 

I remembered encountering this one situation.

 

 

Chess.com declares this a stalemate, rather than an insufficient material case.

 

(Though in my other knight example earlier, Black to move is not really a stalemate if Black just captured some bishop or knight on a8)

MARattigan
eric0022 wrote:
MARattigan wrote:
eric0022 wrote:
...

Or it could arise if a White knight captures, say, some rook on d7 and it would currently be Black to move.

Yes. My point was really that you specified White to move (and even in the absence of a specification I think White to play would be conventionally assumed).

 

I remembered encountering this one situation.

 

 

Chess.com declares this a stalemate, rather than an insufficient material case.

 

(Though in my other knight example earlier, Black to move is not really a stalemate if Black just captured some bishop or knight on a8)

The FIDE laws don't specifically recognise insufficient material any more. According to those I would say it's both stalemate and a dead position. All stalemates are dead positions, so the stalemate rule in the FIDE laws has been redundant since the dead position rule was introduced.

MattRybansky

great explanations! thanks

TheNoobyGM
baddogno wrote:

I'll try.  When a K is in check and can't move out of it, that's checkmate.  When a K isn't in check, but can't move anywhere he won't be in check, that's stalemate.  Hope that helped...

I'll try and find you some articles.

For it to be a stalemate you should also not have any other legal moves.

AussieRookie

Here's the game between the 2 sisters. I think it's fair to say that this game absolutely deserved a draw. happy.png

 

 

MARattigan

If you had played instead 60. Qa3# then it would have been checkmate instead of stalemate. You should now be able to see the difference between the two moves.