Illegal Position Contest!

Sort:
MARattigan
Leither123 wrote:

I might not check over my positions sometimes, but I can still make something that is illegal:

But just not this time.

 
SriyoTheGreat
fjdkslagh wrote:
 

both kings are in check at the same time, easy

n9531l1
fjdkslagh wrote:

that was a mental mistake. pretend the black king was somewhere else and a bishop was there.

so this is what I was thinking:

 

What is the simplest form of that kind of illegal position? Here's a possibility.

MARattigan

Depends if it needs to be knight check or just the checking piece has nowhere to come from.

MARattigan

#7942. No problem. Just put your board the right way up, like @n9531l1's.

#7943. Same.

I suspect you've hit on the reason the pieces were at their respective ends in the original diagrams.

MARattigan
Leither123

White was supposed to be stalemated before that could happen, but I forgot that the bishop can move 🤦

n9531l1
MARattigan wrote:

Depends if it needs to be knight check or just the checking piece has nowhere to come from. (#7941)

n9531l1

Suppose you're given a king of each color and one extra black unit not a king, and asked to make an illegal position with non-adjacent kings. For which types of extra unit could you do it? Obviously a pawn could be put on the 8th rank, and a bishop could be put on a8 with the white king on b7. But what if the extra unit is a queen, rook, or knight?

MARattigan
n9531l1 wrote:
MARattigan wrote:

Depends if it needs to be knight check or just the checking piece has nowhere to come from. (#7941)

Er, yes. Maybe I should stop posting till next year.

@Leither123 re #7948. Yes again. See comment above (maybe definitely).

Just to be inconsistent:

 
Leither123
MARattigan wrote:

@Leither123 re #7948. Yes again. See comment above (maybe definitely).

Well, I can certainly respond to n95's comment. Was it the comment you meant for me to read?

Besides a pawn or bishop, the only type of unit that can be used is a rook.

MARattigan

No, I just meant maybe I should stop posting for a while.

Brain's preoccupied with thinking about what I need to do before Christmas and New Year. (Not doing anything, you understand; just thinking about it.)

MARattigan
n9531l1 wrote:

Suppose you're given a king of each color and one extra black unit not a king, and asked to make an illegal position with non-adjacent kings. For which types of extra unit could you do it? Obviously a pawn could be put on the 8th rank, and a bishop could be put on a8 with the white king on b7. But what if the extra unit is a queen, rook, or knight?

Pawn and bishop have other possibilities of course.

Leither123

I should do the same; I keep making simple mistakes.

MARattigan

These are also illegal under FIDE competition rules.

 
Ply count under the 75 move rule = 1
 
 
Ply count under the 75 move rule = 141
n9531l1
MARattigan wrote:

These are also illegal under FIDE competition rules.

 
Ply count under the 75 move rule = 1
 
 
 
Ply count under the 75 move rule = 141

How does the FIDE rule read that makes this an illegal position?

MARattigan

That has a ply count of 8 under the 75 move rule. It's legal. Can you get there legally under FIDE competition rules with a ply count of 141 under the 75 move rule?

(You can get there in the the chess.com GUI, but that's a different matter; it doesn't necessarily terminate the game in accordance with the FIDE rules when a dead position is reached.)

Leither123
fjdkslagh wrote:
 

Both sides actually have more than enough captures to set up the pawns:

MARattigan

Just to double check.

bald55