Castling and Capturing

Sort:
Avatar of Tinman55

Can the white king castle here and capture the knight?

Avatar of Tinman55

I was wondering if you could legally castle and take the knight with your rook.

Avatar of BikerPoet

That's an interesting question but as I understand the rules of castling one can not do it if there is any piece between the king and the rook. I would think that this would apply to an enemy piece as well.

Avatar of windmill64

You can't capture a piece when castling. Castling is a strictly non combative move only allowed when all pieces, yours and opponents, are cleared between the rook and king and your king never walks into check when castling.

Avatar of Tinman55

Thankyou for the information.

Avatar of macer75

[UNNECESSARY POST]

Avatar of ethanlal04

Hey what if the Knight is on c1, will the King be able to capture then?

Avatar of manekapa
ethanlal04 wrote:

Hey what if the Knight is on c1, will the King be able to capture then?

Castling would be illegal. As mentioned previously, no pieces can be between your king and rook.