13539 Players currently online!
Man vs. Machine - good luck!
Turn-based games at any time!
Vote for the best move to win!
Do you have what it takes?
Backgammon, Yatzy, and more!
Sharpen your tactical vision!
Get advice and game insights!
Learn from top players & pros!
View millions of master games!
Your virtual chess coach!
Perfect your opening moves!
Test your skills vs. computer!
Find the right private coach!
Can you solve it each day?
Bring it all together!
Beginners, start here!
Make friends & play team games!
News from the world of chess!
Search all Chess.com members!
Find local clubs & events!
Who's the best of your friends?
Read what members are saying!
Not sure if this is the correct category but I just wanted to clarify the rules of castling in chess. I played a game in chess.com where I thought that the opponent could NOT castle since the squares that the king and rook was going to pass through was currently under attack, although the end result is the king and rook after castling is not under attack...
Under wikipedia - The king does not pass through a square that is under attack by enemy pieces... keyword being through...
Can I check if chess.com enforces these rules that if a square the king pass through is under attack, then the king cannot castle?
It is enforced.
Perhaps the opponent was castling long? It doesn't matter if the squares only the rook moves through are attacked. For instance if white castles long, it's no problem if b1 or even a1 is attacked.
Thanks for the reply... wow! so now I have to watch carefully which squares I attack to prevent castling...
""Special Event for Movie 'The Man Who Knew Infinity'" with GM Maxim Dlugy"
Collectors´Correspondence Chess Club
by CephaloMan 2 minutes ago
Sharp yet sound opening repertoire
by German_MagnusCarlsen 4 minutes ago
why do GMs lose
by chesster3145 13 minutes ago
Craziest Opening Ever and still beat a much higher rated player
by Bur_Oak 15 minutes ago
Need help remembering the title of a book
by Stolen_Authenticity 15 minutes ago
by FutureGM2001forlife 17 minutes ago
what position should I paint on chess painting?
by Sqod 17 minutes ago
FIDE titles as tournament prizes: Yes or No
by Martin_Stahl 25 minutes ago
No Rematch Whine!
by Ziryab 29 minutes ago
5/3/2016 - The Slip
by Gummug 33 minutes ago
Why Join | Chess Topics |
Help & Support |
© 2016 Chess.com
• Chess - English
We are working hard to make Chess.com available in over 70 languages. Check back over the year as we develop the technology to add more, and we will try our best to notify you when your language is ready for translating!