Forums

Chess Notation for a Beginner

Sort:
Kazutadashi

Hey everyone, recently I have become very involved in chess, trying to understand openings and famous games as well as tactics and such. About 2 weeks ago I rented a book from my local library about chess basics, things like outposts and good and bad bishops; however, the notation looks like alien language to me! I have learned the notation rules but trying to visualize the moves in the book is almost impossible for me. Maybe it's just because I'm a beginner, but is there any way to train my mind to be able to visualize things like Qg4 faster? Thanks for anyone's help!

Cuffley

Is the book written by Jeremy Silman? 

As tips on learning notation, it'll come through practice.  Just keep thinking of the files a-h and ranks 1-8, like a grid.  In time try to memorize the colors of the squares so it's like second nature (e4 white)(d5 white)(d5 dark)(f7 white)(c5 dark), etc.

Then learn the imporant diagonals, like the d1-h5 white diagonal the White queen sits on in the starting position; the d8-h4 dark diagonal of the Black queen; f1-a6 white diagonal of the White King's bishop, etc.

You'll get the hang of it in no time, then you should teach yourself descriptive notation (P-K4, etc) so you can read classic chess books.

Cheers,

Becky

Kazutadashi

Thanks for the informative response Becky! I never thought about memorizing the colors, it seems that should help.

Cuffley

Yes memorizing the colors is a great help, especially since a lot of the play involves weakening or strengthening particular-color squares.

Another thing, when you read your chess book, try to play along in real time on a real chess board and look at the moves physically.

Cheers,

Becky

CraftBukkit

A few things:

The first letter of every move is the piece (except for if the pawn is moving!

Bishop: B

Knight: N

Rook: R

Queen: Q

King: K

Pawn: (no name)

If you find 'x' in a move that is: hits ...

- = moves to.