Forums

Coaches

Sort:
jwalexander

I am new to Chess.com, an inexperience (just below 1000) but wanting to improve player. My question is about coaches on this site. I've seen the "find a coach", I'm wondering what to expect from a coach here? Is payment required? How much time realistically should I need to commit (I have a fulltime job, family, etc). I'm  58, my goals are to improve, and be able to have interesting and  fun games at a higher level. Thanks for any thoughs.

Jack

philidorposition

Well, take this with a grain of salt, but I think much of what you need to reach higher levels from 1000, requires very simple yet hard work. At this stage, I would simply recommend you to search around for improvement methods and do the work needed. A coach could explain you the intricacies of the advantage of a queenside majority in the endgame but it wouldn't mean much if you hang a piece on move 5, which a lot of beginners do.

Personally, I would recommend studying a good beginner's book, get chessmaster for Waitzkin's lectures, play lots of games with stronger opponents and analyze them with a good engine, and daily tactics study on an online tactics server (probably the most important).

A coach would be much more useful after reaching maybe class A or B level.

jwalexander

Thanks for the response, but you highlight some of the problems. First, there  are SO many resources, it's difficult to find where to start. I am doing the tactics here and steadily improving, and also reading Dan Heisman's books. I have Fritz 12 but frankly I'm not sure how to use it and it doesn't help much when it spills out one variation after another. Perhaps some of it would just be as an assessment and then direction on how to use some of these resources?

jwalexander

Do you recommend just connecting with Mr Bartholomew, or are there others that may be better suited?

rocketbrainsurgeon
jwalexander wrote:

TFirst, there  are SO many resources, it's difficult to find where to start.