1. Rf8 Be4 2. Rc8
Your move?
no, ijust dont think this is possible
Look on the bright side... you can tell people that you checkmated a 2350 player twice in a row (because you were playing the Black side in those examples, and Black got to administer checkmate).
Every time you advance with your Bishop closer to mine, I move my Rook to the correctly numbered square. h8=0, c8=1, d8=2, e8=3, f8=4
Every time you retreat with your Bishop, I follow it with mine, keeping the SAME number of empty squares between them.
Your moves always reduce the number of squares between Bishops, my moves always keep it the same. So it steadily gets smaller.
So, would this be the longest continuation?
No, Black can draw after Be4?? by playing Bc6! just as you played, but after Rd8 Black should draw by exchanging Bishops.
Instead:
blueemu, a short solution is possible. 1. Rh8 Bc6. 2. Bd5 Bb7. 3. Bc6 Bxc6.
The puzzle is correct. I know this is hard to accept, but it is.
White's 1. Rh8 throws away the "win", and is met by Bf3 and White is in ZUGZWANG.
Call each square on Black's back rank by a number.
h8 is zero. If there are ever ZERO squares between the Bishops then the White Rook must immediately play to h8,
c8 is one. If there are ever ONE square between the Bishops, then the White Rook must immediately play to c8.
d8 is two. If there are ever TWO squares between the Bishops, then the White Rook must immediately play to d8.
e8 is three. If there are ever THREE squares between the Bishops, then the White Rook must immediately play to e8.
f8 is four. If there are ever FOUR squares between the Bishops, then the White Rook must immediately play to f8.
The above rules (which back-rank squares coordinate with which distances between the Bishops) only apply when Black moves his Bishop CLOSER. If he retreats it (moving it further away), then White should follow with his own Bishop, maintaining the distance.
Some examples:
Cool puzzle. Messed with it a bit, and couldn't break that solution... rook has to stay "in front" (closer to the black king) because then black can never capture white's bishop, it can only move forwards or backwards. That's the first thing to realize... and when it moves backwards and white's bishop moves forwards, the black bishop starts to run out of squares. Knowing that and "win condition" (bishops touching and a rook on h8) and you know enough to solve it with some trial and error. The numbered ranks make it easy of course, but it's fun to try to figure out why it works.
So, would this be the longest continuation?
No, Black can draw after Be4?? by playing Bc6! just as you played, but after Rd8 Black should draw by exchanging Bishops.
Instead:
Yeah, black can take the bishop.
Seems that if you're not concerned with the fastest mate, all you have to do is not move the bishop on the same file as the rook (because then black captures the bishop) and eventually black runs out of squares.
Something like this
-
No, if White begins with 1. Rd8 then Black plays Bd5! and draws.
There is only ONE initial move that wins (1. Rf8) and that's because in the initial position there are FOUR empty squares between the two Bishops, so your first move must be Rook to the FOUR square which is f8.
h8 is the ZERO square.
c8 is the ONE square.
d8 is the TWO square.
e8 is the THREE square.
f8 is the FOUR square.
So 1. Rf8 is the winning move.
No, if White begins with 1. Rd8 then Black plays Bd5! and draws.
There is only ONE initial move that wins (1. Rf8) and that ;s because in the initial position there are FOUR empty squares between the two Bishops, so your first move must be Rook to the FOUR square which is f8.
h8 is the ZERO square.
c8 is the ONE square.
d8 is the TWO square.
e8 is the THREE square.
f8 is the FOUR square.
So 1. Rf8 is the winning move.
Yes yes, you don't have to label the squares again.
Ok so
1.Rd8 Bd5
Now I play 2.Be4 and it's your move.
go back to rf8. what if i do be4?
Be4 puts one empty square between the Bishops, so look up to that diagram I posted and move your Rook to THAT square.
c8