Forums

Counter-check when in check

Sort:
UPMB851

In one of my blitz games I arrived in this very tense situation playing the white pieces I opponent is in check. Now my question is whether the move Rf7+ is legal for black in this position? The computer points out the move kg7 as the best move which is of course still winning totally winning for white. I am just curious because I've been playing chess for quite a while and thought I knew all the chess rules until I found myself in this situation.

Hopefully you can give me some input. My first thought is that it seems perfectly legal?

Lagomorph

A normal legal move, why would it not be.

Vandros57

The white rook is maybe on d1, because the black queen is hanging in that variant.

pfren

http://www.chess.com/forum/view/more-puzzles/check-then-checkmate

Look at post #6.

nartreb

Perfectly legal, because by moving to f7 the rook interposes itself and releases the black king from check. Black's only other legal moves are to interpose the e-pawn (useless) or to move the king away.  Either way, his queen is dead meat. 

King_of_Checkmates

Dead Meat

MickinMD

The basic question seems to be: can you put your opponent in check in the same move where you remove yourself from check?  Obviously, the answer is yes!

JayeshSinhaChess

As legal as 1. e4

SaraLuciaOSP

A normal legal move