Forums

Crossed over 1900 Rapid, Blitz, and Bullet (Featuring complicated Evans Gambit game)!

Sort:
blackmore324

I finally crossed over 1900 for all three time controls! I started learning chess in the pandemic because I had nothing better to do. I never played as a kid, only knew how the pieces moved. I always thought 2000 was a pipe dream, but now I might reach that by the end of the year! In terms of difficulty I would say blitz is the toughest on chess.com to climb, followed by bullet than rapid was the easiest. Blitz is always a challenge every game it really takes a lot out of you mentally to think as fast as you need to while still making best moves. Time management adds an extra layer of complexity to the games in terms how best to allocate your mental resources. I also am most likely to tilt in blitz because of how close those games tend to be. Bullet might be easier for some people but for me since I play mostly on mobile I don't have access to multiple premoves which puts you at a major disadvantage. Depending on your location you are also at the mercy of the chess.com servers. Rapid is very easy to get a high rating with, just take your time make sure your moves don't blunder anything and you will win most of your games.

I was very happy with the rapid game that got me over 1900. It was a very complicated Evans gambit that I thought would be fun to share. Some of the suggested best moves are absolutely outrageous. For example if there are any high rated players that can explain to me why on move 17 sacrificing the pawn with e5 was the top engine move I would appreciate it. It doesn't look like it accomplishes anything to my puny brain. Now on to 2000, wish me luck!

mrversatile

nice one, i cracked 2000 in both bullet and rapid pretty easily, but getting blitz 2000 is too tough man

blackmore324
mrversatile wrote:

nice one, i cracked 2000 in both bullet and rapid pretty easily, but getting blitz 2000 is too tough man