draw conditions

Sort:
Avatar of tglahn17

Hi, everyone,

Is it a draw if a player's king is not in check but has no legal moves, but the player has other pieces which can make legal moves?  Thanks, 


Avatar of shadowslayer
ummm... it's a draw
Avatar of shadowslayer

unless.... the opponet leaves him alone and takes away his time

Avatar of behemoth
If the player has other legal moves, it is not a draw. There must be no legal moves available to the player.
Avatar of nardis
behemoth wrote: If the player has other legal moves, it is not a draw. There must be no legal moves available to the player.

Yes, this is correct.  If the king has no where to go, but there are pieces or pawns that can move the game continues.

Avatar of silentfilmstar13
Thanks for that wonderfully wrong answer, shadowslayer.
Avatar of tglahn17

Great,

 Who's correct, shadowslayer or behemoth?  On the rules page of chess.com (http://www.chess.com/article/view/chess-rules--basics), it says "The position reaches a stalemate where it is one player’s turn to move, but his king is NOT in check and yet he does not have another legal move".  The player's other pieces aren't mentioned, so I thought this would be consistent with shadowslayer's opinion.  I think chess would be a better game if behemoth's opinion were correct.  Also, what about this thrice-repeated position draw condition?  The chess.com rules page says "A player declares a draw if the same exact position is repeated three times (though not necessarily three times in a row)".  Does this exact position refer to only the draw-declaring player's pieces, or to all pieces on the board?  Thanks, 


Avatar of tglahn17

Thanks,

I see the king question was settled while I was writing my reply.  Thanks, 


Avatar of silentfilmstar13
Shadowslayer is definitely wrong.  Think of it this way.  The game is played by the players making one move each, alternating.  When a player can't make a move, ANY move, it's a draw.  Think of the beginning of the game.  Can you move your King on move one?  No!  Play goes on, though.
Avatar of Markle

 

 The three repetition rule applies if the position on the board is exactly the same with the same player on move, the position has to be the same but does not have to occur 3 times in a row.

Avatar of tglahn17

Thanks, silentfilmstar13,

What about the thrice-repeated position draw?  Thanks, 


Avatar of tglahn17

OK,

 Thanks, Markle.  Will the analysis board in a chess.com match alert you of these draw conditions?  Thanks,


Avatar of Mats

Just because the king has no legal moves does NOT mean that it is a draw. If another piece can move then the game continues.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Think about the first position! The king does not have any legal moves but it is not stalemate.











If there are no legal moves for any of a player's pieces and that person's king is not in check, then it is a stalemate. On the second board, the first position can be played, the second position is stalemate.
Avatar of tglahn17
benws wrote:

If the position has been the exact same three times in a row during a game (not necessarily consecutively), the game is a draw.



 OK,

What does "position" mean?  Is it the arrangement of one player's pieces, or the arrangement of both player's pieces?  Also, how can the position be the same "three times in a row" but "not necessarily consecutively"?  Thanks, 

 


Avatar of sstteevveenn

It means every piece including those of the opposing player, a "position" refers to the setup of the board, which has both black and white pieces on it.  

 


Avatar of Dany31
If it would be a draw when you can't move your king legally the would never start.
Avatar of tglahn17
Thanks, sstteevveenn!
Avatar of silentfilmstar13
I'm going to petition to change the name of this site to www.brokenrecord.com
Avatar of Rrrrreeeeee1111
17 years ago