Draw for insufficient material - What is the rule?

Sort:
Martin_Stahl
wrote:
Martin_Stahl wrote:
wrote:
Timmy likes to play chess. Timmy sees a mate in two moves with 1. Rxg8+ Bxg8 2. Ng6#. Timmy gets excited and plays Rxg8+ whereupon Timmy's opponent is forced to capture Bxg8. With his night expectantly poised over the g6 square, Timmy's heart sinks as he sees "Game drawn due to insufficient material".
 
My question: will chess.com declare this mate in 1 position as a draw or not? Is there justice for Timmy? :'(

That would only be insufficient material if white runs out of time.

In that case, @bigD521 is correct that black would win if it's under FIDE regulations.

Rxg8 Bxg8 it is now KN vs KB. Why is this not a draw? From post #2 there is no mention of time.

copied -

If both sides have any one of the following, and there are no pawns on the board:

A lone king 
a king and bishop
a king and knight
In the above scenarios the game will end in a draw, because it is not possible to force mate against a lone king with that material. You have a king and bishop your opponent has a king and bishop? It’s a draw! A king and bishop vs a king and a knight? Draw! And so on.

Maybe it does immediately in a draw; though it probably shouldn't be and should rely on the timeout or 50 move rule instead.