duplicating the king move more than 3 times is a draw??

Sort:
Avatar of Martykatz9
I thought that was a rule
Avatar of notmtwain
Martykatz9 wrote:
I thought that was a rule

No. The whole position has to be repeated three times.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Threefold_repetition

 

And it's not automatic. You have to claim it by hitting the draw button.

Avatar of MickinMD

Reaching the same position 3x where the same player has the move, the same pieces are on the board, and the pieces have the same possible moves every time (particularly castling and en passant capture) makes a draw claimable.