Help needed to solve a rule problem


Strictly speaking once a player touches a piece he/she MUST move it if it can be moved legally. Once the piece is placed on a square the move is said to be complete in that the piece can't be moved to another square or replaced, again supposing that the move is legal. In tournament or timed play the opponent can only make his/her move once his/her clock has been activated. The one exception to the touch move rule is when a player decides to adjust a piece on a square, which he/she must MUST announce in advance by saying "I adjust" (the more snooty use the French expression 'ja doub' (pronounced jah-doo)).
However, once a piece is legally placed on a square, it cannot be replaced or moved to another square, even if you still have both hands and all your feet on it!
An easy way to remember this is:
"Touch a piece, move the piece; touch a square, leave it there."
Ok i'm playing a game right now and my friend and I are stuck on a debate about how a turn ends. I say my turn doesn't end until i move my hand from the board. He says it's the peace. Who is right? Help would be nice asap