Forums

How bad is a 640 rating

Sort:
Jacer34
Having played chess for a combined period of a year (several decades ago) and having joined a couple chess.com a couple of weeks ago my rating is now around 630-650. If the standard ELO rating for beginners is about 800 this means that I am playing to a standard worse than an absolute beginner! The weird thing is I have played a few good games with people around the 600-700 range and each of us seem to have a grasp of the basics of the game and tactics - eg planning ahead with defence and attack and implementing forks, pins etc and knowing how to finish. Is the rating on chess.com different or are all if us at my level simply catastrophically awful?
Jacer34
Ps apologies for typos etc in my main message above. Can’t work out how to edit yet.
KnightErrant97

Frankly put, this is the sort of rating you’d expect a very young child with no knowledge of the game to have. I’d encourage you to look at any of your games you thought was played well, and turn on the chess analysis engine. At the 700 level, It’ll show you a whole myriad of blunders and mistakes on both sides. (I also use it as a tool for reviewing my own games)

Jacer34
@KnightErrand97. Thanks for you rather patronising answer. There was a hint of exaggeration in my original post so: err, no, I don’t think a a young child who is a beginner with no experience would be able to play at the level of 600-700 on chess.com. That’s not a very helpful comment but never mind. Of course I am making a myriad of mistakes and my game is still chaotic but my question was about whether the rating system was different to the useful ELO system. Thanks for the tip about the feedback from the chess analysis engine about blunders, mistakes will try that.
llama47
Jacer34 wrote: