How is it I got a draw here?

Sort:
Avatar of USA-Elephant

Hi,

How is this a draw when I only moved knight twice to same spot ... should not I be the one whom has to move three times?

If was up to opponent they would move back and forth on a lost game and claim a draw thus such is not valid or true ... 

So how is it i got a draw here?

Thx.

https://www.chess.com/game/live/75718875759

Avatar of albacored

If the pieces are in the same place three times, it's a draw. Doesn't matter who moves. So after 45. wkg2, the position is identical to the setup after 43. wkg2, and before that 41. wkxg2. In the game review it shows which moves contribute to the three-fold repetition.

Avatar of USA-Elephant

so if i am losing a game I can move my king back and forth in a corner to which opponent has no way to change position or check me ... yet I can move my king back forth three times its a draw? i no think so ...

I did not move my knight three times.

Avatar of USA-Elephant

three times to same square that creating a repetion, did not do ... did not happen ... I dont get it sad.png

Avatar of albacored

Some explanation here: https://www.chess.com/terms/threefold-repetition-chess

To quote: "The threefold repetition rule states that if a game reaches the same position three times, a draw can be claimed. A position is repeated if all pieces of the same kind and color are on identical squares, and all possible moves are the same."

Which is, as I explained before, what happened.

The move sequences don't need to be identical, i.e., you don't need to have moved your knight three times. Only the board position as a whole needs to be the same three times. If you go to the game review, and look at the position before white's turn on moves 41, 43, and 45, you will see all the pieces are in the same place. Thus it's a draw.

Avatar of USA-Elephant

Hummm ... ok interesting ... Ill take look at it. Thank you.