In a tournament game, if a player promoted to an upturned rook, it would be a rook, even if he says it's a queen.
The correct procedure if there is no spare queen available is to stop the clocks and get the arbiter, who will provide spare queens.
Depends which rules are in effect. From the USCF rulebook: "It is a common practice, however, to play using an upside-down rook for a second queen. In the absence of the player's announcement to the contrary, an upside-down rook shall be considered a queen."
in the US Barber K-8 championships back in August, one guy (who shall remain nameless, but rated highly) decided to punish his opponent and promoted his pawns - 4 queens - and stalemated.
You joking Shadowknight!
Oh my gosh, I'm laughing my head off here!
That is the one and only reason why I would personally never do anything like that. When the game is won, one tends to lose a bit of concentration. It's only human I guess.
Not so long ago I was playing a lower rated opponent in an online tournament match. 21 moves into the game I was three pawns up and instead of just playing normal, my head blew up to three times it's size with overconfidence and I took the fourth pawn, leaving myself wide open for attack.
We drew the game in the end, and it was only because I offered the draw and my opponent didn't see the win.