Forums

is ~1500 ranking on Chess.com good?

Sort:
countmosula

Hello all,

I recently started playing on chess.com and I'm about 50 games in. My ranking is close to 1500. I have never played in live tournaments - only online and I just want to know what my rating indicates... am I an intermediate? advanced? Intermediate going on advanced?

It seems like the vast majority of players I come up against are in the 1300-1400 level. Is this a problem with the matching system or just that there aren't many players playing above 1500?

NimzoRoy

I got this info from your "full stats" page, standard chess ranking. As you can see there are about 36,000 players rated higher than you are. As for the matching system, I'm unable to answer that but if none of the admins weigh in  here you could try asking one of them I suppose.  Around here you're in the 92nd percentile of standard players, making you an "advanced" player since only 8% of the standard players are rated higher than yourself. 

However,  when you look at my standard stats (below yours) you can see I appear to be really advanced, when in fact I'd be lucky to be class-A in USCF because the Glicko rating system used here is very inflated compared to USCF ratings. USCF Class-A players are rated 1800-1999 and I'd be lucky, maybe very lucky to be in the low 1800s in USCF. So don't take this personally, but in my experience here and in USCF you are definitely not an advanced player and quite probably not intermediate, because in USCF you'd be about 1000-1175 which is Class E. But don't get discouraged or disappointed - or hot under the collar, esp not at me! :) for 50 games your rating is respectable IMHO and again, you are in the 92nd percentile - here. And you have lots of room (and time) to improve a lot, so go to it!

Current: 1475
Today's Rank: #37964 of 502,312

Current: 2132
Highest: 2132 (22 Jan 2012)
Avg. Opp.: 2051
Best Win: 2202 (josev)
Today's Rank: #2347 of 246,124 (99%)
Total Games: 68
Won: 46 (68%)