Is this game drawn by repetition - Not fair?

Sort:
Avatar of Alex_Williams1

I don't think that there was repetition for 3 times in the following game:

http://www.chess.com/livechess/game.html?id=313373173

I should have won it as my opponent was under time pressure, me being up with two pawns with only a few pieces on the board and he being lower rated than me.

What do you think?

Thanks  a lot.

Avatar of MoonlessNight

Even if you're winning, you still need to finish of your opponent. the game was repeated 3 times, and the game is drawn.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1

What I am saying is that there was no repetition for 3 times - may be 2 times.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1

These were the last moves:

49.Rf7
Avatar of Alex_Williams1

Repitition started from 46th move.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1

I was going to play a different move for the 49th move.

Avatar of goldendog

No, from the 45th.

Avatar of MoonlessNight

the position was the same at move 45, 47, and 49.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1

Ok. agreed. My mistake. But I did not play Rf6 again to complete the third repetition in the 49th move.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1
dalephilly wrote:

Right, immediately after white makes moves 45, 47, and 49, the positions are all identical.  Three or more is the prerequisite to claim a draw by repetition, and it is a valid claim.  You are under the mistaken assumption that it is only the position at the 'end' of a move (i.e. after black's 49th move) that matters.  It doesn't work that way; as soon as white makes his 49th move he can immediately claim draw by repetition without giving black a chance to move.

Well, you should be right. In that case, no hard feelings. I will be more careful next time onwards. Smile

Avatar of goldendog

Insufficient Material is much trickier to untangle for the uninitiated.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1
dalephilly wrote:

No problem, it's easy to get confused on these kinds of topics.  In the future, however, there's really no reason to make two different forum threads for the same thing, especially in such a short time frame.

Thanks. I am sorry to make two different forum threads. I made the second in the help and support section as there was no reply in this thread first.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1
goldendog wrote:

Insufficient Material is much trickier to untangle for the uninitiated.

Well, English is not my native language. What is the meaning of uninitiated? I hope you are not insulting me. Smile

Avatar of balapsyche

At the end of 11 th (Black) move too there has been a triple repeat !!
The game has extended far beyond it. :)

Avatar of goldendog
sekhar1 wrote:
goldendog wrote:

Insufficient Material is much trickier to untangle for the uninitiated.

Well, English is not my native language. What is the meaning of uninitiated? I hope you are not insulting me. 

Uninitiated=not exposed to the material

Everyone gets their chance to learn here, I hope.

Avatar of Alex_Williams1
sekhar1 wrote:
goldendog wrote:

Insufficient Material is much trickier to untangle for the uninitiated.

Well, English is not my native language. What is the meaning of uninitiated? I hope you are not insulting me. 

I checked the dictionary. I want to say that I am not a newbie. I know about the insufficient material part. And also this was not my first game drawn by repetition. But, I always thought there should be 3 full moves - by both white and black for the draw.

Avatar of SquareDealer

According to my understanding of the rules of Chess, the player whose move when made will constitute repetion of position may claim a draw prior to making the move.

Avatar of Jadeite

It's three repetitions of a position, not a move. If the same position, with the same player to move, is reached three times, either player can play a draw. So, for instance, I think this would be a draw:

Avatar of shepi13

Just one question that interests me: If the repetition occurs early in a game without a draw, can you declare a draw later in the game? It would seem slightly cheap.

Avatar of TonyH

no you have to claim a draw based on the repetition on that move if you change the position on say the 4th move no draw.